The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

September 12, 2013

Reader's Letter: Let's save our Moose Lodge

On Sept. 27 from 4 to 7 p.m. and Sept. 28 from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. the Clinton Moose Lodge located at 1936 Lincoln Way will be holding a fund-raising indoor garage sale to help offset some of its expenses.

Also, on the Sept. 28, there will be a bake sale going on at the same time as the garage sale. As it has been for many businesses in the Clinton area, the Moose Lodge has encountered some difficult financial burdens over the past few years and we need support from our members and the Clinton area to keep this establishment going.

The purpose of the Lodge, both men and women, is to support children and teens in need and/or at risk. Some of the children are orphans or have just one parent that is unable to care for them. Mooseheart, where these children are placed, provides them with a wholesome home-like environment and gives them the best training and education possible. Another purpose of the Moose is to support our members in their senior years by providing and promoting an active life style on a campus full of services and amenities and provides for all levels of health care for its retired community.

We are asking for support from all Moose members and the Clinton community by either donating those unused, unwanted, unneeded items to the garage sale (no large items please, such as TVs) and/or by donating your baked goods for the bake sale.

Also Friday night, Sept. 27, is our monthly family pizza night and on Saturday, Sept. 28th, our lunch special is chicken strips so come to the garage and bake sales and enjoy our homemade pizzas for dinner or come and have lunch with us. Better yet, become a Moose member and see what it is all about.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Walter Williams mug Wage discrimination everywhere 'President Obama Vows Zero Tolerance on Gender Wage Gap," read one headline. Another read, "Women Still Earned 77 Cents On Men's Dollar In 2012." It's presumed that big, greedy corporations are responsible for what is seen as wage injustice. Before

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Celebrity quack moms are a terrible influence on everyday parents

    On April 15, the actress Alicia Silverstone released a book called "The Kind Mama: A Simple Guide to Supercharged Fertility, a Radiant Pregnancy, a Sweeter Birth, and a Healthier, More Beautiful Beginning." It's chock-full of attachment parenting lessons and dangerous misinformation.

    April 24, 2014

  • Community College provides good, affordable education The people of the Clinton area can be very proud of their outstanding educational services starting with pre-school through the 12th grade. In addition we have Clinton Community College, which provides two more years of education with preparation for

    April 24, 2014

  • Will Illinois school aid formula get a makeover? People in Illinois hear a lot about schools not getting enough funding from the state, but not much about an effort afoot in Springfield to develop a fairer way to distribute the money. Whether Senate Bill 16, the School Funding Reform Act, can achie

    April 24, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook