The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

November 7, 2012

Reader unhappy with sewer bill charge

CLINTON — I have been reading with interest the recent letters to you concerning the sewer bills in the city of Clinton.

I just wanted to let your readers know that we sold our home in Clinton recently.

When we went to closing and our attorney was reviewing with us the settlement statement, there was an interesting charge on it. It seems the city adds a charge called “sewer escrow to City of Clinton” in the amount of $300.

Now we were up to date on our sewer bill with the exception of a final bill.

We have never been behind in our bill. I am wondering if we will ever see any of this money returned. I think when you keep the bill paid you should be trusted for the final one too.

Maybe people skip out on final bills if they move from town, I don’t know.

I can understand that if you have a bill that has been on their books for awhile.

They are entitled to payment as well as a fee for a final bill. Good luck to the good citizens of Clinton. Many of you pay your bill. I know there are several that are living on fixed incomes and cannot afford to pay these bills.

Many of you make difficult decisions already about what bills to pay.

I hope that somehow this can all be figured out in the near future without charging these high fees.

The last few years Clinton has made some very bad decisions. It is the good citizens that are paying the price.

We have moved from Clinton now. We will miss the many friends we have made there. But we sure will not miss the controversy over all the problems your city has.

Mary A. Ehlers,

Bellevue

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Expectations too high for a rehabbing Woods

    Tiger Woods finished near bottom last weekend at Royal Liverpool, drawing out his drought of major tournament wins. Despite the disappointing showing, Woods' return to form remains a matter of when, not if.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Todd Akin's back again to talk of rape So, Todd Akin is back and he’s talking rape again.You remember what happened last time. The would-be Missouri senator torpedoed his campaign two years ago after suggesting in a TV interview that if a woman is a victim of “legitimate rape,” she is unl

    July 22, 2014

  • Sadness remains as two-year mark passes in cousins' case As most citizens of the Cedar Valley are well aware, July 13 marked two years since the disappearance of cousins Elizabeth Collins and Lyric Cook-Morrissey of Evansdale.The passage of time provides some semblance of healing, but the sadness, particul

    July 22, 2014

  • UI needs to keep its admission standards high There’s been a lot of talk lately — most of it coming from the leadership of the Iowa state Board of Regents — about the University of Iowa not being passionate enough about its recruitment of in-state undergraduates. Regent president Bruce Rastetter

    July 21, 2014

  • Vote fraud myths meet voting rights reality Before she was allowed to register and vote for the first time in Franklin County, North Carolina, Rosanell Eaton had to read the entire preamble to the U.S. Constitution out loud in front of three men in the county courthouse.Eaton is black. The thr

    July 21, 2014 1 Story

  • 7-21-14 David Helscher mug Prepare for possible effects of Fed's decisions It has been more than 5 years since the Federal Reserve has taken unprecedented steps to support the economy through purchases of Treasury and mortgage-backed debt securities. This has generally been called quantitative easing and has not been withou

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • What it was like as a teen

    Ten years ago today, I’d like to think I was checking out educational books to prepare myself for my upcoming journey through college.

    In reality, I was probably playing video games and thinking of ways to have fun, while trying not to get into too much trouble.

    July 20, 2014

  • Randy Meier Spoofing practices resurface Spoofing is the practice deliberately falsifying a telephone number and/or name relayed to the caller ID feature of a phone. This type of call right now is the number one phone scam I receive. Many people report receiving calls appearing on caller ID

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Impeaching the president Sarah Palin is right about impeaching President Obama.No, not that the president should be impeached. But Palin is correct in arguing that, for those who assert that Obama has grievously abused his executive authority, impeachment is the proper cours

    July 18, 2014

  • Celebrate the renovated bandshell? Yes, but... I attended the ribbon cutting for the renovated bandshell on July 1. I was a proud member of the Vision 8 team that enabled the project. However, the previous Friday night, June 27, I was also a member of the cast of “Annie Get Your Gun.”When the Nat

    July 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook