The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

November 7, 2012

Reader unhappy with sewer bill charge

CLINTON — I have been reading with interest the recent letters to you concerning the sewer bills in the city of Clinton.

I just wanted to let your readers know that we sold our home in Clinton recently.

When we went to closing and our attorney was reviewing with us the settlement statement, there was an interesting charge on it. It seems the city adds a charge called “sewer escrow to City of Clinton” in the amount of $300.

Now we were up to date on our sewer bill with the exception of a final bill.

We have never been behind in our bill. I am wondering if we will ever see any of this money returned. I think when you keep the bill paid you should be trusted for the final one too.

Maybe people skip out on final bills if they move from town, I don’t know.

I can understand that if you have a bill that has been on their books for awhile.

They are entitled to payment as well as a fee for a final bill. Good luck to the good citizens of Clinton. Many of you pay your bill. I know there are several that are living on fixed incomes and cannot afford to pay these bills.

Many of you make difficult decisions already about what bills to pay.

I hope that somehow this can all be figured out in the near future without charging these high fees.

The last few years Clinton has made some very bad decisions. It is the good citizens that are paying the price.

We have moved from Clinton now. We will miss the many friends we have made there. But we sure will not miss the controversy over all the problems your city has.

Mary A. Ehlers,

Bellevue

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook