The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

November 7, 2012

Reader unhappy with sewer bill charge

CLINTON — I have been reading with interest the recent letters to you concerning the sewer bills in the city of Clinton.

I just wanted to let your readers know that we sold our home in Clinton recently.

When we went to closing and our attorney was reviewing with us the settlement statement, there was an interesting charge on it. It seems the city adds a charge called “sewer escrow to City of Clinton” in the amount of $300.

Now we were up to date on our sewer bill with the exception of a final bill.

We have never been behind in our bill. I am wondering if we will ever see any of this money returned. I think when you keep the bill paid you should be trusted for the final one too.

Maybe people skip out on final bills if they move from town, I don’t know.

I can understand that if you have a bill that has been on their books for awhile.

They are entitled to payment as well as a fee for a final bill. Good luck to the good citizens of Clinton. Many of you pay your bill. I know there are several that are living on fixed incomes and cannot afford to pay these bills.

Many of you make difficult decisions already about what bills to pay.

I hope that somehow this can all be figured out in the near future without charging these high fees.

The last few years Clinton has made some very bad decisions. It is the good citizens that are paying the price.

We have moved from Clinton now. We will miss the many friends we have made there. But we sure will not miss the controversy over all the problems your city has.

Mary A. Ehlers,

Bellevue

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Dangerous Darkies Logo.png Redskins not the only nickname to cause a stir

    Daniel Snyder has come under fire for refusing to change the mascot of his NFL team, the Washington Redskins. The Redskins, however, are far from being the only controversial mascot in sports history.  Here is a sampling of athletic teams from all areas of the sports world that were outside the norm.

    July 29, 2014 3 Photos

  • Off and on the record Let us now praise anonymous sources.The new White House press secretary got into a familiar old spat with the White House press corps the other day over the use of anonymous sources.Josh Earnest — has there ever been a more perfectly named White Hous

    July 25, 2014

  • Be more informed

    Blame the city.That is a favorite pastime of many, including me at times. Driving over that pesky pothole or paying that annual property tax bill can lead to some choice words referencing the city. Nobody takes the brunt of being the scapegoat more t

    July 25, 2014

  • CCC thanks community, collaborators for successful movie night Clinton Community College would like to thank those who participated in the free outdoor movie showing of “Captain America – Winter Soldier” on the evening of Friday, July 18.We are grateful to have such wonderful community collaborators in the Erick

    July 25, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Better police needed for college teams enticed to cheat

    The NCAA once cracked down on colleges that went too far luring top prospects, then it targeted teams that lathered players with special treatment. That was until the NCAA's get-tough approach backfired, rendering it ineffective and creating an opportunity for those who want to play dirty.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Expectations too high for a rehabbing Woods

    Tiger Woods finished near bottom last weekend at Royal Liverpool, drawing out his drought of major tournament wins. Despite the disappointing showing, Woods' return to form remains a matter of when, not if.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Todd Akin's back again to talk of rape So, Todd Akin is back and he’s talking rape again.You remember what happened last time. The would-be Missouri senator torpedoed his campaign two years ago after suggesting in a TV interview that if a woman is a victim of “legitimate rape,” she is unl

    July 22, 2014

  • Sadness remains as two-year mark passes in cousins' case As most citizens of the Cedar Valley are well aware, July 13 marked two years since the disappearance of cousins Elizabeth Collins and Lyric Cook-Morrissey of Evansdale.The passage of time provides some semblance of healing, but the sadness, particul

    July 22, 2014

  • UI needs to keep its admission standards high There’s been a lot of talk lately — most of it coming from the leadership of the Iowa state Board of Regents — about the University of Iowa not being passionate enough about its recruitment of in-state undergraduates. Regent president Bruce Rastetter

    July 21, 2014

  • Vote fraud myths meet voting rights reality Before she was allowed to register and vote for the first time in Franklin County, North Carolina, Rosanell Eaton had to read the entire preamble to the U.S. Constitution out loud in front of three men in the county courthouse.Eaton is black. The thr

    July 21, 2014 1 Story

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook