The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

November 7, 2012

Reader unhappy with sewer bill charge

CLINTON — I have been reading with interest the recent letters to you concerning the sewer bills in the city of Clinton.

I just wanted to let your readers know that we sold our home in Clinton recently.

When we went to closing and our attorney was reviewing with us the settlement statement, there was an interesting charge on it. It seems the city adds a charge called “sewer escrow to City of Clinton” in the amount of $300.

Now we were up to date on our sewer bill with the exception of a final bill.

We have never been behind in our bill. I am wondering if we will ever see any of this money returned. I think when you keep the bill paid you should be trusted for the final one too.

Maybe people skip out on final bills if they move from town, I don’t know.

I can understand that if you have a bill that has been on their books for awhile.

They are entitled to payment as well as a fee for a final bill. Good luck to the good citizens of Clinton. Many of you pay your bill. I know there are several that are living on fixed incomes and cannot afford to pay these bills.

Many of you make difficult decisions already about what bills to pay.

I hope that somehow this can all be figured out in the near future without charging these high fees.

The last few years Clinton has made some very bad decisions. It is the good citizens that are paying the price.

We have moved from Clinton now. We will miss the many friends we have made there. But we sure will not miss the controversy over all the problems your city has.

Mary A. Ehlers,

Bellevue

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • If I can do it... If I can do this, you can also do this. What I would like to tell you about is being a volunteer driver for the Veterans Administration. I am retired from the electrical trade. I worked as an electrician for 36 years. When I took my retirement some t

    April 15, 2014

  • Allie Kibler mugshot YWCA camp offers fun for kids Each month YWCA members and volunteers are featured highlighting the many facets of our community in which they're a part of. This month, YWCA Youth Director, Allie Kibler shares information on this summer's YWCA Fun in the Sun Summer Camp program. T

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Could LBJ do as much today? Fifty years later, it's hard to imagine the enactment of the Civil Rights Act by today's polarized Congress. Maybe, as the old saying goes, today's fighting is so vicious because the stakes are so small. We Americans fight less among ourselves when w

    April 14, 2014

  • Retiring CCC instructors praise college's growth, direction After more than 35 years of service to Clinton Community College, we would like to offer some pre-retirement observations about the college: its past, its present and its future. When we arrived at the college in 1976, it had already been transforme

    April 14, 2014

  • School funding still an ongoing topic The budget still has several hurdles to jump before it is finalized. Now the House has to reach a consensus and then if the House and Senate cannot agree, a conference committee would have to merge the two versions. Finally, the governor has to sign

    April 12, 2014

  • Meier Take a survey, win a cruise; not going to happen A Clinton woman called me last week to report on a phone call she received. She first received a call from a young woman, who asked her to take a short survey. It sounded innocent enough, so she agreed, and answered a few questions, none of which so

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Economic plan invests in Iowans Our work at the statehouse this week has been spent on the last few major budget bills. Since I serve as vice-chairwoman of the Economic Development Budget subcommittee, I have been focused on House File 2460. This bill funds small business developm

    April 12, 2014

  • The cool way of driving around

    Driving around with the windows down has taken on a whole new perspective.
    With spring finally arriving, I was able to roll down my windows, bask in the sunlight and turn up the tunes in my car this week. As I age, the music has changed a bit, and even three years ago, I wrote about the morphing tune of how “cool” I appeared while cruising around.

    April 11, 2014

Poll

Should the city of Clinton appeal the open records violation ruling that will cost taxpayers $40,600?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook