The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

September 18, 2013

FREEHILL: Win big with a healthy tailgate

Are you ready for some football? Many fans are more than ready this time of year, and what is a football game without the proper tailgate? This season, take your staple dishes and change the lineup to score some healthy points with your fans.

The Switcheroo

• Soup — Instead of creamy soups, how about chili made with beans and lean ground beef or turkey? Also, load up on vegetables. You will be surprised how much flavor carrots, zucchini and potatoes can add to your chili dish.

• Pizza — Don’t order out; grill your own pizza. This gives you control of the ingredients and adds some fun. In advance, chop up tomatoes, onions and green and red bell peppers. Personalize the pizza with your favorites like mushrooms or olives. Have shredded cheese and a whole-wheat crust ready to go. Try Canadian bacon for a leaner protein option.

• Salsa — Whether you make your own or head to the store, salsa has less fat content and fewer calories than cheese dip. Choose a baked corn chip to complement.

MyPlate at your tailgate

Use the USDA’s MyPlate tool as your playbook when planning to keep half your tailgate full of fruits and vegetables. Grab produce that matches your team colors for a more spirited twist.

• Kabobs — Get creative and let the kids design their perfect lunch on a stick. Try pineapple chunks with chicken and peppers for a Hawaiian twist.

• Griller Trays — Throw together a perfect medley of vegetables or pick one up at your local grocery store to throw on the grill.

MVP — Greek Yogurt

Stay ahead of the game and make Greek yogurt the most valuable player at your tailgate. Try mixing plain nonfat Greek yogurt and taco seasoning ahead of time, to score a lower-calorie and protein-packed dip.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook