The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

September 20, 2013

This simple test can save your life

Men are thickheaded, stubborn and unreasonable, to say the least, when you suggest a visit to the doctor’s office.

They believe they can “shake it off,” or they’ll be all better if they “rub some dirt on it” — pick your favorite macho sentiment. That kind of attitude can be deadly when it comes to a man’s health.

Perhaps it’s because of masculine attitudes that Prostate Cancer Awareness Month passes as barely a blip on the public radar while Breast Cancer Awareness Month has almost everyone in the pink.

The numbers are all too similar. There will be 238,590 new cases of prostate cancer in the United States this year, according to estimates compiled by the American Cancer Society, and 29,730 will die. Those are all men.

Prostate cancer strikes black men at higher rates than it does white men, and black men are twice as likely to die of the disease.

There will be 232,340 new cases of breast cancer among women and 2,240 cases among men — yes, breast cancer strikes men, too — and 39,620 women and 410 men will die.

A further similarity between the cancers is that early detection is key. The five-year survival rate for prostate cancer is 100 percent unless the disease has spread to other areas of the body. For breast cancer, it’s 98 percent. The odds that you’ll live longer have increased as new medications and procedures become available.

Besides getting much more attention, breast cancer research receives twice the money that prostate cancer research does. In fiscal 2009, breast cancer research received $872 million from the federal government; prostate cancer got $390 million.

But more research spending won’t do any good if men don’t go to the doctor. Men are 24 percent less likely than women to have visited a doctor within the past year, according to the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

September is Prostate Cancer Awareness Month, but we don’t expect to see professional athletes sporting extra blue attire during games. Perhaps the NFL can mix some public service announcements in with the beer commercials to get the guys’ attention. If that doesn’t work, ladies, tell the man you love to go to the doctor.

He’ll be around a lot longer if he does.

 

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook