The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

September 21, 2013

Reader: Honor vets, former families with road's name

I was born in Clinton, Iowa in 1943, was raised in Clinton and went from kindergarten through 12th grade in Clinton graduating in 1961. I lived on Ruth Place for many years.

My father Bill Lawson and his partner Al Lewis had their business in south Clinton. They moved it to south Clinton in 1959 and it was there until 1984. Having worked with my dad and his partner for 27 years in south Clinton, I grew to know many of the people living there and I say that with pride.

My dad’s partner’s family also lived in south Clinton. When ADM bought up the properties in south Clinton, a way of life changed. Some say good change, others say not so good. One day when I took a drive down there all that was standing west of South Fourth Street was Irving School with a backdrop of ADM towering over the small school.

I don’t have a picture of it but only in my mind’s eye. How sad. A way of life or so many families gone.

Now we go to the removal of all that was south of Camanche Avenue. The houses, car shops of CNW Railroad going all the way out to South 14th Street. The only people I knew on Liberty Avenue were the Bill Jetters and Lowell Hightower families. But there were many others. They had roots there.

I have never served in the military as has the man who put up the idea of changing the name of Liberty Avenue. I respect our military to the highest degree. Because we have a strong military, our country is still the best in the world. Thank God for that.

How about giving the families who lived along Liberty Avenue and in south Clinton a memorial they can hold onto along with the veterans.

Veterans Liberty Avenue South.

Liberty is what the veterans fought for us to have. It will honor them and remember the families on Liberty Avenue and in south Clinton.

However, you see it, it was home to many people. Just another thought. Do any veterans have an opinion on this thought?

Jerry Lawson,

Sabula

 

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Holly Youngquist Friends of the Library book sale is underway

    Friends of the Library Book Sale is open now. The sale is open to all until 8 p.m. today and on Friday, Aug. 1, from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Finally, Saturday, Aug. 2, is box day. From 9 a.m. to  3 p.m., books will sell at $3 per box.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Cremation service helped pet owner in her time of need

    I wanted to share some positive news about a business located in Clinton that I’m guessing most residents aren’t aware even exists. It’s Northridge Pet Cremation on Main Avenue and for me they were recently a godsend.

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: A Cappella choir concert was a success

    The CHS A Cappella reunion was great. It was real great to hear so many good voices of so many former choir members.

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Time to boost social security

    It's time for Congress to act so that Social Security benefits can finally start to keep pace with the cost of living.

    July 31, 2014

  • Dangerous Darkies Logo.png Redskins not the only nickname to cause a stir

    Daniel Snyder has come under fire for refusing to change the mascot of his NFL team, the Washington Redskins. The Redskins, however, are far from being the only controversial mascot in sports history.  Here is a sampling of athletic teams from all areas of the sports world that were outside the norm.

    July 29, 2014 3 Photos

  • Off and on the record Let us now praise anonymous sources.The new White House press secretary got into a familiar old spat with the White House press corps the other day over the use of anonymous sources.Josh Earnest — has there ever been a more perfectly named White Hous

    July 25, 2014

  • Be more informed

    Blame the city.That is a favorite pastime of many, including me at times. Driving over that pesky pothole or paying that annual property tax bill can lead to some choice words referencing the city. Nobody takes the brunt of being the scapegoat more t

    July 25, 2014

  • CCC thanks community, collaborators for successful movie night Clinton Community College would like to thank those who participated in the free outdoor movie showing of “Captain America – Winter Soldier” on the evening of Friday, July 18.We are grateful to have such wonderful community collaborators in the Erick

    July 25, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Better police needed for college teams enticed to cheat

    The NCAA once cracked down on colleges that went too far luring top prospects, then it targeted teams that lathered players with special treatment. That was until the NCAA's get-tough approach backfired, rendering it ineffective and creating an opportunity for those who want to play dirty.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Expectations too high for a rehabbing Woods

    Tiger Woods finished near bottom last weekend at Royal Liverpool, drawing out his drought of major tournament wins. Despite the disappointing showing, Woods' return to form remains a matter of when, not if.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook