The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

September 21, 2013

Reader: Honor vets, former families with road's name

I was born in Clinton, Iowa in 1943, was raised in Clinton and went from kindergarten through 12th grade in Clinton graduating in 1961. I lived on Ruth Place for many years.

My father Bill Lawson and his partner Al Lewis had their business in south Clinton. They moved it to south Clinton in 1959 and it was there until 1984. Having worked with my dad and his partner for 27 years in south Clinton, I grew to know many of the people living there and I say that with pride.

My dad’s partner’s family also lived in south Clinton. When ADM bought up the properties in south Clinton, a way of life changed. Some say good change, others say not so good. One day when I took a drive down there all that was standing west of South Fourth Street was Irving School with a backdrop of ADM towering over the small school.

I don’t have a picture of it but only in my mind’s eye. How sad. A way of life or so many families gone.

Now we go to the removal of all that was south of Camanche Avenue. The houses, car shops of CNW Railroad going all the way out to South 14th Street. The only people I knew on Liberty Avenue were the Bill Jetters and Lowell Hightower families. But there were many others. They had roots there.

I have never served in the military as has the man who put up the idea of changing the name of Liberty Avenue. I respect our military to the highest degree. Because we have a strong military, our country is still the best in the world. Thank God for that.

How about giving the families who lived along Liberty Avenue and in south Clinton a memorial they can hold onto along with the veterans.

Veterans Liberty Avenue South.

Liberty is what the veterans fought for us to have. It will honor them and remember the families on Liberty Avenue and in south Clinton.

However, you see it, it was home to many people. Just another thought. Do any veterans have an opinion on this thought?

Jerry Lawson,

Sabula

 

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook