The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

September 21, 2013

Reader: Honor vets, former families with road's name

I was born in Clinton, Iowa in 1943, was raised in Clinton and went from kindergarten through 12th grade in Clinton graduating in 1961. I lived on Ruth Place for many years.

My father Bill Lawson and his partner Al Lewis had their business in south Clinton. They moved it to south Clinton in 1959 and it was there until 1984. Having worked with my dad and his partner for 27 years in south Clinton, I grew to know many of the people living there and I say that with pride.

My dad’s partner’s family also lived in south Clinton. When ADM bought up the properties in south Clinton, a way of life changed. Some say good change, others say not so good. One day when I took a drive down there all that was standing west of South Fourth Street was Irving School with a backdrop of ADM towering over the small school.

I don’t have a picture of it but only in my mind’s eye. How sad. A way of life or so many families gone.

Now we go to the removal of all that was south of Camanche Avenue. The houses, car shops of CNW Railroad going all the way out to South 14th Street. The only people I knew on Liberty Avenue were the Bill Jetters and Lowell Hightower families. But there were many others. They had roots there.

I have never served in the military as has the man who put up the idea of changing the name of Liberty Avenue. I respect our military to the highest degree. Because we have a strong military, our country is still the best in the world. Thank God for that.

How about giving the families who lived along Liberty Avenue and in south Clinton a memorial they can hold onto along with the veterans.

Veterans Liberty Avenue South.

Liberty is what the veterans fought for us to have. It will honor them and remember the families on Liberty Avenue and in south Clinton.

However, you see it, it was home to many people. Just another thought. Do any veterans have an opinion on this thought?

Jerry Lawson,

Sabula

 

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Vote fraud myths meet voting rights reality Before she was allowed to register and vote for the first time in Franklin County, North Carolina, Rosanell Eaton had to read the entire preamble to the U.S. Constitution out loud in front of three men in the county courthouse.Eaton is black. The thr

    July 21, 2014 1 Story

  • UI needs to keep its admission standards high There’s been a lot of talk lately — most of it coming from the leadership of the Iowa state Board of Regents — about the University of Iowa not being passionate enough about its recruitment of in-state undergraduates. Regent president Bruce Rastetter

    July 21, 2014

  • 7-21-14 David Helscher mug Prepare for possible effects of Fed's decisions It has been more than 5 years since the Federal Reserve has taken unprecedented steps to support the economy through purchases of Treasury and mortgage-backed debt securities. This has generally been called quantitative easing and has not been withou

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • What it was like as a teen

    Ten years ago today, I’d like to think I was checking out educational books to prepare myself for my upcoming journey through college.

    In reality, I was probably playing video games and thinking of ways to have fun, while trying not to get into too much trouble.

    July 20, 2014

  • Randy Meier Spoofing practices resurface Spoofing is the practice deliberately falsifying a telephone number and/or name relayed to the caller ID feature of a phone. This type of call right now is the number one phone scam I receive. Many people report receiving calls appearing on caller ID

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Impeaching the president Sarah Palin is right about impeaching President Obama.No, not that the president should be impeached. But Palin is correct in arguing that, for those who assert that Obama has grievously abused his executive authority, impeachment is the proper cours

    July 18, 2014

  • Celebrate the renovated bandshell? Yes, but... I attended the ribbon cutting for the renovated bandshell on July 1. I was a proud member of the Vision 8 team that enabled the project. However, the previous Friday night, June 27, I was also a member of the cast of “Annie Get Your Gun.”When the Nat

    July 18, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Posturing, predictions fly as SEC turns to a new season

    Little news is truly made at the Southeastern Conference's media days, where players and coaches predict, insinuate and deflect in advance of this fall's college football season.
     

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Our unwillingness to defend ourselves The U.S. Justice Department’s Bureau of Justice Statistics reports that 2012 losses because of personal identity theft totaled $24.7 billion. The money losses from identity theft pale in comparison with the costs of paperwork, time and inconvenience

    July 17, 2014

  • Alan Dixon 'Al the Pal' will be missed What did former U.S. Sen. Alan J. Dixon, who died Sunday at the age of 86, do for you?For starters, open your purse or wallet and take a good look at your driver’s license.Before Dixon was Illinois secretary of state from 1977 to 1981, licenses consi

    July 17, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook