The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

October 16, 2013

Now's not time for lesson on overspending

The U.S. government’s record of excessive spending and ballooning deficits has put us in dire financial straits. Something has to be done.

But politicians shouldn’t use the debt-ceiling decision as a bargaining chip in their fight over government spending.

Raising the debt ceiling is a formality that allows government to pay the bills that Congress has already approved paying. To refuse to raise the limit is akin to letting the country bounce its checks. If it wants to control spending, Congress needs to say no before it makes the “purchase,” not when the bill is due.

To not pay those bills could have catastrophic impact on the global marketplace, economists believe. Some politicians say that point of view is overstated. If they won’t believe economic predictors, how about history?

The last time we edged this close to default, in 2011, the impact was serious, if not disastrous. For the first time ever, the U.S. credit rating was downgraded. The stock market tanked. It cost us billions more to borrow money after that, and consumer confidence was badly shaken. And that’s how it looked when the crisis was, at the last minute, averted.

But all that, apparently, was not enough of a negative outcome to have Congress avoid another debt ceiling crisis. In fact, Congress decided to lump the conversations on government spending and budgeting and the debt ceiling and the Affordable Health Care Act all into one big debate. This is a legislative body that can’t find agreement on small points of contention. How on earth will it untangle this web? Even if the extension discussed on Thursday takes place, and the Oct. 17 debt-ceiling deadline is met, another debt-ceiling decision will be just around the corner.

If the government goes into default, strides made toward economic recovery will be reversed, and the world will view our government as grossly incompetent. And the U.S. government could actually default on its debts.

Is this debt ceiling crisis a threat of our own making?

It is.

Is the whole thing a little bizarre?

It is.

But is the threat real?

It absolutely is.

Congress should tackle reining in government spending — but not by refusing to act on the debt ceiling.

Telegraph Herald

Oct. 11

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Reader is grateful for Iowa-American Water's help I would like to take this opportunity to extend my sincere gratitude to Iowa-American Water Company and its hard-working professional crew. I was without water, due to frozen pipes, for almost seven weeks. Everyone went above and beyond to get my wat

    April 17, 2014

  • 'Case Day' inspires students to aim high There's an MRCTV video circulating on the Internet that features a man with a microphone asking college students in Washington, D.C., to name just one member of the United States Senate. At least half a dozen are stumped. When he asks how many senato

    April 16, 2014

  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook