The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

October 30, 2013

Reader supports Determann for council

Four years ago, we citizens voted in four new people to city council. This decision gave them controlling interest on the council. Today, three out of the four are again running for office. These four have made mistakes that have cost the taxpayers of Clinton $14,950,000 plus they took on new bonded debt of $86 million for a total of $100,950,000. Their decisions have affected the financial well-being of the community and affected every taxpayer in Clinton.

Following is the list of mistakes:

• EMS settlement: $4.5 million. At the beginning of their terms, the incumbents paid the federal government for the EMS settlement, they tried to get their money back by suing the attorney they hired and lost. This cost all of us hundreds of thousands of dollars.

• Municipal dock: $6.3 million in an asset and $300,000 in annual rent. After the EMS settlement, the city ran out of money. It was forced to sell a top-notched asset — the municipal dock — for a little over $6 million. Less than two years later that money is gone. The yearly rent from the dock is gone forever. This asset was sold without taking bids.

• Early retirement: $1.8 million. The incumbents gave 10 people $180,000 each in retirement benefits.

• Bike path to nowhere: $300,000. The schools and incumbents wanted a bike path for the new north-end elementary school alongside Miller Ridge Apartments. The city decided on the location and borrowed $300,000 to build it only to have the schools declare it unsafe.

• Chancy Fire Station: $750,000. The citizens of Clinton voted this down and the incumbents lowered the building cost to be under their legal limit so that they could move forward to build it without citizen approval.

• 37 closed sessions

• 25 lawsuits

• Attorney fees: $750,000

• Financing police cars: $100,000

• City Service fees: Garbage fees, sewer fees, building fees, RV fees — everything has gone up over past four years

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Basketball stars may linger on campus a while longer

    The NBA seems serious about raising its minimum age, which could signal the end of the one-and-done era in college basketball.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Race card season again? After years of mostly hedging any suggestion that racism has anything to do with President Barack Obama's ferocious opposition, there's a new racial etiquette in town. Top Democrats are slipping off the kid gloves. "To a significant extent, the Repub

    April 21, 2014

  • Report suggests a reasonable approach Illinois has long had the most units of government in the nation - 6,963 at last count. Do we need so many taxing districts to provide governmental services across the Land of Lincoln? Supporters and opponents of the status quo can both find somethin

    April 21, 2014

  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook