The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

November 2, 2013

Reader adds to candidate information

I am writing this to inform the public that two of the five people running for at-large seats left out vital information about their education, experience and background in Wednesday’s Clinton Herald.

Andrew Luett works for Iowa-American Water. It states it in the Clinton Herald, page 2A, Friday, Sept. 20.

Jennifer Graf did not list anything about her family background. She also did not list that she is co-president of the YWCA. In other Clinton Heralds she has said that she is on the Bridgeview Board and also the landfill board. I would like to know why these were not listed so voters would know more about them. In the past, Iowa American Water has donated money to the YWCA and Art Under the Stars.

Jeff Medinger,

Clinton

Graf does her research

We are voting for Jennifer Graf for council at large because she is intelligent, caring and fair.

When there is a problem she researches it thoroughly before making her decisions. She speaks her mind with facts to back them up. One of several examples of her representing all the citizens of Clinton is her getting the fall big pickups approved because the citizens of Clinton had already paid for it.

We have had good representation from the City Council. Where we ran into problems is with department heads. Most of that is gone thanks to people like Jennifer and other council members. We will miss Charlie Mulholland, he worked hard for the citizens.

Bonnie and Harvey Evers,

Clinton

Former councilman disappointed with council’ votes

Long-time councilman and former one-term Mayor Darrell Smith and I agree that these past four years have been an absolute disaster for the good tax- paying citizens and our misguided city council.

Mayor Mark Vulich was called out for his multiple vetoes but many people have not taken the time to figure out that he was questioning a bad decision. We have a City Council that says they have business experience and common sense, but have yet to display much of either.

Text Only
Opinion
  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • If I can do it... If I can do this, you can also do this. What I would like to tell you about is being a volunteer driver for the Veterans Administration. I am retired from the electrical trade. I worked as an electrician for 36 years. When I took my retirement some t

    April 15, 2014

  • Allie Kibler mugshot YWCA camp offers fun for kids Each month YWCA members and volunteers are featured highlighting the many facets of our community in which they're a part of. This month, YWCA Youth Director, Allie Kibler shares information on this summer's YWCA Fun in the Sun Summer Camp program. T

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Could LBJ do as much today? Fifty years later, it's hard to imagine the enactment of the Civil Rights Act by today's polarized Congress. Maybe, as the old saying goes, today's fighting is so vicious because the stakes are so small. We Americans fight less among ourselves when w

    April 14, 2014

  • Retiring CCC instructors praise college's growth, direction After more than 35 years of service to Clinton Community College, we would like to offer some pre-retirement observations about the college: its past, its present and its future. When we arrived at the college in 1976, it had already been transforme

    April 14, 2014

  • School funding still an ongoing topic The budget still has several hurdles to jump before it is finalized. Now the House has to reach a consensus and then if the House and Senate cannot agree, a conference committee would have to merge the two versions. Finally, the governor has to sign

    April 12, 2014

  • Meier Take a survey, win a cruise; not going to happen A Clinton woman called me last week to report on a phone call she received. She first received a call from a young woman, who asked her to take a short survey. It sounded innocent enough, so she agreed, and answered a few questions, none of which so

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Economic plan invests in Iowans Our work at the statehouse this week has been spent on the last few major budget bills. Since I serve as vice-chairwoman of the Economic Development Budget subcommittee, I have been focused on House File 2460. This bill funds small business developm

    April 12, 2014

  • The cool way of driving around

    Driving around with the windows down has taken on a whole new perspective.
    With spring finally arriving, I was able to roll down my windows, bask in the sunlight and turn up the tunes in my car this week. As I age, the music has changed a bit, and even three years ago, I wrote about the morphing tune of how “cool” I appeared while cruising around.

    April 11, 2014

Poll

Should the city of Clinton appeal the open records violation ruling that will cost taxpayers $40,600?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook