The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

November 2, 2013

Reader adds to candidate information

I am writing this to inform the public that two of the five people running for at-large seats left out vital information about their education, experience and background in Wednesday’s Clinton Herald.

Andrew Luett works for Iowa-American Water. It states it in the Clinton Herald, page 2A, Friday, Sept. 20.

Jennifer Graf did not list anything about her family background. She also did not list that she is co-president of the YWCA. In other Clinton Heralds she has said that she is on the Bridgeview Board and also the landfill board. I would like to know why these were not listed so voters would know more about them. In the past, Iowa American Water has donated money to the YWCA and Art Under the Stars.

Jeff Medinger,

Clinton

Graf does her research

We are voting for Jennifer Graf for council at large because she is intelligent, caring and fair.

When there is a problem she researches it thoroughly before making her decisions. She speaks her mind with facts to back them up. One of several examples of her representing all the citizens of Clinton is her getting the fall big pickups approved because the citizens of Clinton had already paid for it.

We have had good representation from the City Council. Where we ran into problems is with department heads. Most of that is gone thanks to people like Jennifer and other council members. We will miss Charlie Mulholland, he worked hard for the citizens.

Bonnie and Harvey Evers,

Clinton

Former councilman disappointed with council’ votes

Long-time councilman and former one-term Mayor Darrell Smith and I agree that these past four years have been an absolute disaster for the good tax- paying citizens and our misguided city council.

Mayor Mark Vulich was called out for his multiple vetoes but many people have not taken the time to figure out that he was questioning a bad decision. We have a City Council that says they have business experience and common sense, but have yet to display much of either.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Better police needed for college teams enticed to cheat

    The NCAA once cracked down on colleges that went too far luring top prospects, then it targeted teams that lathered players with special treatment. That was until the NCAA's get-tough approach backfired, rendering it ineffective and creating an opportunity for those who want to play dirty.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Expectations too high for a rehabbing Woods

    Tiger Woods finished near bottom last weekend at Royal Liverpool, drawing out his drought of major tournament wins. Despite the disappointing showing, Woods' return to form remains a matter of when, not if.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Todd Akin's back again to talk of rape So, Todd Akin is back and he’s talking rape again.You remember what happened last time. The would-be Missouri senator torpedoed his campaign two years ago after suggesting in a TV interview that if a woman is a victim of “legitimate rape,” she is unl

    July 22, 2014

  • Sadness remains as two-year mark passes in cousins' case As most citizens of the Cedar Valley are well aware, July 13 marked two years since the disappearance of cousins Elizabeth Collins and Lyric Cook-Morrissey of Evansdale.The passage of time provides some semblance of healing, but the sadness, particul

    July 22, 2014

  • UI needs to keep its admission standards high There’s been a lot of talk lately — most of it coming from the leadership of the Iowa state Board of Regents — about the University of Iowa not being passionate enough about its recruitment of in-state undergraduates. Regent president Bruce Rastetter

    July 21, 2014

  • Vote fraud myths meet voting rights reality Before she was allowed to register and vote for the first time in Franklin County, North Carolina, Rosanell Eaton had to read the entire preamble to the U.S. Constitution out loud in front of three men in the county courthouse.Eaton is black. The thr

    July 21, 2014 1 Story

  • 7-21-14 David Helscher mug Prepare for possible effects of Fed's decisions It has been more than 5 years since the Federal Reserve has taken unprecedented steps to support the economy through purchases of Treasury and mortgage-backed debt securities. This has generally been called quantitative easing and has not been withou

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • What it was like as a teen

    Ten years ago today, I’d like to think I was checking out educational books to prepare myself for my upcoming journey through college.

    In reality, I was probably playing video games and thinking of ways to have fun, while trying not to get into too much trouble.

    July 20, 2014

  • Randy Meier Spoofing practices resurface Spoofing is the practice deliberately falsifying a telephone number and/or name relayed to the caller ID feature of a phone. This type of call right now is the number one phone scam I receive. Many people report receiving calls appearing on caller ID

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Impeaching the president Sarah Palin is right about impeaching President Obama.No, not that the president should be impeached. But Palin is correct in arguing that, for those who assert that Obama has grievously abused his executive authority, impeachment is the proper cours

    July 18, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook