The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

November 2, 2013

Reader adds to candidate information

I am writing this to inform the public that two of the five people running for at-large seats left out vital information about their education, experience and background in Wednesday’s Clinton Herald.

Andrew Luett works for Iowa-American Water. It states it in the Clinton Herald, page 2A, Friday, Sept. 20.

Jennifer Graf did not list anything about her family background. She also did not list that she is co-president of the YWCA. In other Clinton Heralds she has said that she is on the Bridgeview Board and also the landfill board. I would like to know why these were not listed so voters would know more about them. In the past, Iowa American Water has donated money to the YWCA and Art Under the Stars.

Jeff Medinger,

Clinton

Graf does her research

We are voting for Jennifer Graf for council at large because she is intelligent, caring and fair.

When there is a problem she researches it thoroughly before making her decisions. She speaks her mind with facts to back them up. One of several examples of her representing all the citizens of Clinton is her getting the fall big pickups approved because the citizens of Clinton had already paid for it.

We have had good representation from the City Council. Where we ran into problems is with department heads. Most of that is gone thanks to people like Jennifer and other council members. We will miss Charlie Mulholland, he worked hard for the citizens.

Bonnie and Harvey Evers,

Clinton

Former councilman disappointed with council’ votes

Long-time councilman and former one-term Mayor Darrell Smith and I agree that these past four years have been an absolute disaster for the good tax- paying citizens and our misguided city council.

Mayor Mark Vulich was called out for his multiple vetoes but many people have not taken the time to figure out that he was questioning a bad decision. We have a City Council that says they have business experience and common sense, but have yet to display much of either.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Stand up against child abuse April is National Child Abuse Month and I would like to take a moment to share that our children are precious and Clinton County has one of the highest in the state when it comes to children who have been abused. You are able to check the statistics

    April 19, 2014

  • Bills to move quickly in final days Tuesday marks the 100th and last day of this scheduled session. After Tuesday, clerks will be sent home and legislators driving and living expenses will no longer be paid by the state. That usually means remaining legislation and Fiscal Year 2015 bu

    April 19, 2014

  • Reducing money's influence in politics The (Crystal Lake) Northwest Herald There's no doubt that money influences politics -- in big ways. Big money influences politics in even bigger ways, sometimes leading to corruption. That's why there are federal caps on the amount of money someone c

    April 19, 2014

  • Looking for love in all the wrong places This classic Dear Margo column was published in April 2008. DEAR MARGO: I'm 30 years old and have been married to an incredible, loving, caring man for 10 years. We have a beautiful family and we adore our children. Our sex life was pretty boring at

    April 19, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook