The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

November 9, 2013

Cuts to the SNAP program are going to impact all

Nearly 48 million Americans, or 15 percent of the country, receive an average food stamp benefit of $133 per month. The 6 percent, or $5 billion, cut to the nation’s food stamp program will harm more than those individual recipients.

It will put a dent in the sales from companies that cater to lower-income consumers, analysts told The Associated Press. Stores like Wal-Mart, dollar stores or discounted bulk goods stores will see a sales decline for groceries and, ultimately, other goods.

The increased benefit began in 2009 as part of the federal government’s stimulus package. The added cash, about $36 per month for a family of four, was supposed to help individuals and the business community better weather the recession.

With less to spend on food, individuals will likely be forced to cut back on other spending, and at this time of year, that typically means anything holiday-related. Analysts had already projected a lackluster fourth quarter, some fearing the worst since 2008.

Add in the impact of the federal government’s shutdown, and the fourth quarter isn’t shaping up to set any records.

The Norman TranscriptNorman, Okla.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • City must find a way to fund sewer work Breaking news this week — EPA mandates are forcing the city of Clinton to evaluate how to fund future sewer improvements. OK, maybe this topic is reviewed each year, but if you checked out Facebook on Tuesday in anticipation of the Clinton City Counc

    July 11, 2014

  • Hillary Clinton's lawyerly past WASHINGTON, D.C. — It should not be necessary to write this column.Lawyers represent clients. Criminal defense lawyers represent clients accused of crimes — sometimes horrible, evil clients accused of heinous crimes. It is the ethical and professiona

    July 11, 2014

  • Gov. Quinn's easy voting ripe for fraud Gov. Pat Quinn said he wants voting to be “as easy as possible.” Well, mission accomplished. It’s so easy now, we fear for vote fraud.Thanks to the bill he signed into law last week, Illinois has about as many ways to vote now as Bubba Gump had to pr

    July 11, 2014

  • Man not interested in relationships DEAR ANNIE: I am a 42-year-old single man who has never been married or even been in a relationship. I’m perfectly content with this, but apparently, the people in my life are not. The truth is, I am not nor have I ever been attracted to either sex.

    July 10, 2014

  • Zamperini was more than a hero Just two pages into the book “Unbroken,” its protagonist is in the water, hiding beneath the deteriorating life raft in which he has been drifting across the Pacific Ocean for almost a month. Overhead, Japanese bombers are circling back to strafe him

    July 10, 2014

  • Governor Quinn removing obstacles to voting Voting is the most basic principle of democracy.Yet few people exercise their right to vote. A lot of it is indifference, but some of it is the obstacles we place in front of people to be able to vote.So, we were pleased Tuesday when Gov. Pat Quinn s

    July 10, 2014

  • Youngquist photo Library adult summer reading program winners announced Our next two adult summer reading winners are Linda Dowson, who wins a free large pizza from Pizza Hut, and Holly Harrington, who wins a free 8-inch cake from Dairy Queen. Congrats to the winners and a huge thanks to our sponsors.Minecraft free play

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Carrie Donaire photo Summer strolls at the Arboretum I was recently invited to greet a tour group at the Bickelhaupt Arboretum and I was genuinely excited to make my way over there on a gloriously sunny, steamy July day. The group who came was comprised of about 25 Master Gardeners who had elected to i

    July 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Don't consider eating restrictions a 'fad' DEAR ANNIE: The current “fad” of gluten-free products is both beneficial and harmful to those of us who must follow a gluten-free diet because of celiac disease. On one hand, it’s easier to find gluten-free foods. But on the other hand, those of us w

    July 9, 2014

  • Spending and morality During last year’s budget negotiation meetings, President Barack Obama told House Speaker John Boehner, “We don’t have a spending problem.” When Boehner responded with “But, Mr. President, we have a very serious spending problem,” Obama replied, “I’m

    July 9, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook