The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

March 2, 2013

We must help those victimized by abuse

CLINTON — Clinton has been asked to help subsidize the YWCA Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Resource Center, which aids victims of domestic violence and sexual assault who have no where else to turn.

The request comes because state funding for the center has been cut.

The YWCA has determined each surrounding city's “fair share” of the center's operating cost based on how many of their local residents are being served. 

Clinton is being asked to contribute $53,000, or roughly one-half of the shortfall. Most of the surrounding communities whose residents have used the DVAS center have agreed to pay their “fair share” of this shortfall.

When, as a community, we are deciding where our tax dollars are spent, the priority should be to help the most vulnerable among us. Allocating $53,000 to protect and care for women and children who have experienced the cruelty of abuse within their families and have no resources to remove themselves from this abuse is supporting our own citizens.

This shelter helps the victims gain the confidence and hope necessary to rebuild a better life for themselves and their families. The DVAS Resource Center is the first step on that journey.  We have a responsibility to offer them security and solace in their struggles.

With our state government cutting funding for these essential programs and planning to close all but four of these shelters in our state, we all have a responsibility to contact our state lawmakers with calls and letters asking them to restore the level of state funding given to these shelters throughout the state. 

Ask our legislators to cease plans to regionalize such shelters.  Included in this plan is the directive that children taken to these “Regional Centers” must be bused to their original hometown schools.   

The price tag for such a plan will cripple our cities.  If we have a budget surplus as reported,  what better use than helping fund our local shelters?

Weigh carefully the desperate needs of these vulnerable children and their parents and act today to assist in their care.

The Prince of Peace Pax Christi Board,

Sallyann and Bob Mc Carthy; Fr. Ken Kuntz; Dick and Nancy Roberts; Deacon Art Donart, Ph.D; Sr. Anne Martin OSF; Sr. Joan Theiss OSF; Tom and Nancy Streveler; Sr. Teresa Kunkel; Sandy Jacobs; Arnie and Pat Outzen; Gabriela and Louis Egging

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract

    Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton:
    The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled “‘Fair offer’ differences” in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate statements regarding our negotiated contract proposal with the city. These incorrect statements could impact the use of your city funds negatively and unduly influence our elected representatives. So, we would like to address these points, as follows:

    April 18, 2014

  • Local firefighters' union speaks out on proposed contract Dear citizens/taxpayers of Clinton: The members of Local 609 feel that it is our duty to inform the citizens of Clinton that the article titled "'Fair offer' differences" in the April 9, 2014 edition of the Clinton Herald was full of inaccurate state

    April 18, 2014

  • The lesson of 'Camp David' The line between determination and delusion can be obscure. Sometimes, the distinction emerges only in retrospect, like a Polaroid image slowly appearing. In other instances, the difference between productive grit and self-defeating obsession is an a

    April 18, 2014

  • Wild Rose avoids another distraction Several casino operators in the state of Iowa breathed a sigh of relief Thursday when the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission voted 4-1 to reject a casino in Cedar Rapids. Cedar Rapids is close enough to have a possible effect on Wild Rose Casino and R

    April 18, 2014

  • Youngquist photo World Book Night celebrated April 23 The Clinton Public Library children's department plans to start a Legos club this June. We would appreciate donations of new or used Legos bricks. Please, no Duplo bricks. Drop donations at the children's desk on the second floor of the library. Root

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Walter Williams mug Equality in discipline George Leef, director of research for the North Carolina-based John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy, authored a Forbes op-ed article titled "Obama Administration Takes Groupthink To Absurd Lengths." The subtitle is "School Discipline

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Reader is grateful for Iowa-American Water's help I would like to take this opportunity to extend my sincere gratitude to Iowa-American Water Company and its hard-working professional crew. I was without water, due to frozen pipes, for almost seven weeks. Everyone went above and beyond to get my wat

    April 17, 2014

  • 'Case Day' inspires students to aim high There's an MRCTV video circulating on the Internet that features a man with a microphone asking college students in Washington, D.C., to name just one member of the United States Senate. At least half a dozen are stumped. When he asks how many senato

    April 16, 2014

  • 4-15-14 13-Photo, Masters Bubba more than local hero? AUGUSTA, Ga. -- He plays a sexy game of golf, owns two green jackets and -- in what constitutes a show of major respect in these parts --Bubba Watson made rabid Georgia Bulldog fans take a break from spring football to watch some golf this weekend. A

    April 15, 2014 2 Photos

  • Leonard Pitts mug ...and this is Overkill News Network Enough, already. Please, for the love of Cronkite: Give us a break from the missing plane. Yes, we all wonder what happened to it. Yes, our hearts go out to the families seeking resolution. But really, CNN ... enough. Put your hands up and step away

    April 15, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook