The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

Opinion
  • The high court's high-handedness It is a case of Supreme hypocrisy.The adjective refers to that nine-person tribunal at the top of the American legal system, the noun to its latest act of judicial malpractice. Meaning not the notorious Hobby Lobby decision handed down at the end of

    July 15, 2014

  • Wong When to switch from offense to defense with investments Typically, Wall Street financial advisors concentrate on offense and are always talking about how much money you might make on the upside. They rarely stress the downside. In contrast, Warren Buffett’s number 1 rule is “Don’t Lose Money.”His number 2

    July 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • New border politics: Blame Obama first As thousands of unaccompanied Central American children stream across his state’s southern border, Texas Gov. Rick Perry took a paranoid turn.In an interview last week on ABC’s “This Week,” Perry repeated sentiments that he expressed earlier on Fox N

    July 14, 2014

  • City must find a way to fund sewer work Breaking news this week — EPA mandates are forcing the city of Clinton to evaluate how to fund future sewer improvements. OK, maybe this topic is reviewed each year, but if you checked out Facebook on Tuesday in anticipation of the Clinton City Counc

    July 11, 2014

  • Hillary Clinton's lawyerly past WASHINGTON, D.C. — It should not be necessary to write this column.Lawyers represent clients. Criminal defense lawyers represent clients accused of crimes — sometimes horrible, evil clients accused of heinous crimes. It is the ethical and professiona

    July 11, 2014

  • Gov. Quinn's easy voting ripe for fraud Gov. Pat Quinn said he wants voting to be “as easy as possible.” Well, mission accomplished. It’s so easy now, we fear for vote fraud.Thanks to the bill he signed into law last week, Illinois has about as many ways to vote now as Bubba Gump had to pr

    July 11, 2014

  • Man not interested in relationships DEAR ANNIE: I am a 42-year-old single man who has never been married or even been in a relationship. I’m perfectly content with this, but apparently, the people in my life are not. The truth is, I am not nor have I ever been attracted to either sex.

    July 10, 2014

  • Zamperini was more than a hero Just two pages into the book “Unbroken,” its protagonist is in the water, hiding beneath the deteriorating life raft in which he has been drifting across the Pacific Ocean for almost a month. Overhead, Japanese bombers are circling back to strafe him

    July 10, 2014

  • Governor Quinn removing obstacles to voting Voting is the most basic principle of democracy.Yet few people exercise their right to vote. A lot of it is indifference, but some of it is the obstacles we place in front of people to be able to vote.So, we were pleased Tuesday when Gov. Pat Quinn s

    July 10, 2014

  • Youngquist photo Library adult summer reading program winners announced Our next two adult summer reading winners are Linda Dowson, who wins a free large pizza from Pizza Hut, and Holly Harrington, who wins a free 8-inch cake from Dairy Queen. Congrats to the winners and a huge thanks to our sponsors.Minecraft free play

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook