The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

Opinion
  • Gov. Quinn's easy voting ripe for fraud Gov. Pat Quinn said he wants voting to be “as easy as possible.” Well, mission accomplished. It’s so easy now, we fear for vote fraud.Thanks to the bill he signed into law last week, Illinois has about as many ways to vote now as Bubba Gump had to pr

    July 11, 2014

  • Man not interested in relationships DEAR ANNIE: I am a 42-year-old single man who has never been married or even been in a relationship. I’m perfectly content with this, but apparently, the people in my life are not. The truth is, I am not nor have I ever been attracted to either sex.

    July 10, 2014

  • Zamperini was more than a hero Just two pages into the book “Unbroken,” its protagonist is in the water, hiding beneath the deteriorating life raft in which he has been drifting across the Pacific Ocean for almost a month. Overhead, Japanese bombers are circling back to strafe him

    July 10, 2014

  • Governor Quinn removing obstacles to voting Voting is the most basic principle of democracy.Yet few people exercise their right to vote. A lot of it is indifference, but some of it is the obstacles we place in front of people to be able to vote.So, we were pleased Tuesday when Gov. Pat Quinn s

    July 10, 2014

  • Youngquist photo Library adult summer reading program winners announced Our next two adult summer reading winners are Linda Dowson, who wins a free large pizza from Pizza Hut, and Holly Harrington, who wins a free 8-inch cake from Dairy Queen. Congrats to the winners and a huge thanks to our sponsors.Minecraft free play

    July 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Carrie Donaire photo Summer strolls at the Arboretum I was recently invited to greet a tour group at the Bickelhaupt Arboretum and I was genuinely excited to make my way over there on a gloriously sunny, steamy July day. The group who came was comprised of about 25 Master Gardeners who had elected to i

    July 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Don't consider eating restrictions a 'fad' DEAR ANNIE: The current “fad” of gluten-free products is both beneficial and harmful to those of us who must follow a gluten-free diet because of celiac disease. On one hand, it’s easier to find gluten-free foods. But on the other hand, those of us w

    July 9, 2014

  • Spending and morality During last year’s budget negotiation meetings, President Barack Obama told House Speaker John Boehner, “We don’t have a spending problem.” When Boehner responded with “But, Mr. President, we have a very serious spending problem,” Obama replied, “I’m

    July 9, 2014

  • Iowa drawing nearer HIV reality One Iowa man can celebrate his freedom in a court verdict all Iowans should celebrate for its insight into contemporary HIV treatment and compassion for those under treatment.Five years ago, Nick Rhoades, of Plainfield, was serving a 25-year prison t

    July 8, 2014

  • Courageous or spineless? The psychological explanation for what happened to Catherine Ferreira is neat and tidy and sounds like reason.“The bystander effect,” explains Psychology Today on its website, “occurs when the presence of others hinders an individual from intervening

    July 8, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook