The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Breaking News

Opinion

Opinion
  • Group's faith in Clinton leads to positive change As with all good projects, it begins with a vision.Vision 8 began with a small group of people meeting with Pastor Ron Lott of First Baptist Church and discussing some of the negative attitudes and perceptions of a small, but vocal, part of the commu

    July 3, 2014

  • Planting trees ought to be strongly backed Nature Conservancy scientists are collaborating with Dow Chemical Co. to develop a plan that would help solve several environmental problems with one effort — plant more trees. As a way to reduce the need for expensive equipment to capture pollutants

    July 3, 2014

  • Slow down on the affection DEAR ANNIE: I am a 76-year-old man. After 46 years of a happy marriage, my precious wife passed away four years ago.I live in the country and have become acquainted with several single women around my age who are widows or divorcees and live within a

    July 3, 2014

  • Scope for conscience The major media's account of the Supreme Court's decision in the Hobby Lobby case was typical of the way the case has been misreported from the start. The New York Times headline read, "Supreme Court Rejects Contraceptives Mandate for Some Corporatio

    July 2, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Follow closely as a dozen colleges do the conference shuffle

    Regional affiliations that once defined college athletic conferences are a thing of the past, replaced by the powerful attraction of large markets and big-money television deals. The good news for fans is that the competition has never been better.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Reader: Birtell made a difference in library's history Amy Birtell, she brought the Clinton Public Library from the dark ages to the new golden ages of what a modern public library can be; not just a static informational marvel, but a cultural center. I have seen blues musicians there as well as classic

    July 1, 2014

  • Husband can't be trusted with boy DEAR ANNIE: I am 40 years old and have been married to "Rick" for 19 years. We have four beautiful daughters. For years, Rick wanted a son. I thought he had accepted that it wasn't going to happen, so I didn't protest when he formed a friendship with

    June 30, 2014

  • Half way is still only half way "But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep." -- Robert Frost Sen. Richard Russell called it a work of "manifold evils." Sen. Barry Goldwater called it a "threat to the very essence" of America. Rep. Howard Smith called it a "monstro

    June 30, 2014

  • Hey, Donald, here's how to do a sign Consider the Chicago Sun-Times. Not the media company, but the two matching signs — "Chicago Sun-Times" — on our riverfront building. The signs are a flat and muted color. They are set demurely to the left of center. They are backlit after dark by th

    June 30, 2014

  • Turned off by legal marijuana From her perch as head of the National Institute on Drug Abuse, Nora Volkow watches anxiously as the country embarks on what she sees as a risky social experiment in legalizing marijuana.For those who argue that marijuana is no more dangerous than to

    June 27, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook