The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

Opinion
  • State seeks answers with more secret meetings It might seem fitting to hear a lieutenant governor talking so much about government transparency during Sunshine Week -- a period dedicated to public access to the workings of government. But Iowa Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds' recent impromptu references t

    March 28, 2014

  • Council makes right decision on Adcraft Mistakes happen. Trust me, I've made my share of them. When they happen, you can either deny, deny, deny and learn nothing. Or sometimes, if you're lucky, an opportunity presents itself to change course and make things right. That's what happened thi

    March 28, 2014

  • Slippery slopes before the court In the context of talking about limits on free speech, it's common to say that your freedom to swing your fist ends where my nose begins. That seems like a sensible way to think about the freedom of religion case just argued before the Supreme Court:

    March 28, 2014

  • The Clinton Herald Holly Youngquist photo Lyons branch library's last day will be March 29 The Clinton Public Library has some great new titles for you! Check out: "Healthy Joints for Life" by Richard Diana, "The Wildlife-Friendly Vegetable Gardener" by Tammi Hartung, "The Confident Mom" by Joyce Meyer, and "You Must Remember This" by Rob

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Vote no on banning raw milk sales in Illinois I find this bill to be politics as usual, sneaky and under handed. I for one will be out of business and will be unable to sell raw milk anymore. This is one way to cut back on the tax base in Illinois as I will no longer be able to pay taxes on a pr

    March 27, 2014

  • Clinton Schools Royalty Week celebrates achievements As the proud superintendent of the Clinton Community School District it gives me great pleasure to announce that during the week of March 31-April 4, 2014, the district will be celebrating Clinton Schools Royalty Week. During this week, it is the dis

    March 27, 2014

  • Jury rightly decides a mistake is not a crime Kelli Jo Griffin has a criminal record, but she got her life back on track and wanted to become engaged in her community by voting in a local election. For that act, the state of Iowa accused Griffin of a criminal act that could have put her in priso

    March 26, 2014

  • March is Red Cross Month

    It's Red Cross Month and we would like to recognize our everyday heroes who reach out to help their neighbors when they are in need. These everyday heroes are our volunteers who help disaster victims get on the road to recovery. They give blood to he

    March 26, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: Support Adcraft's plan for growth

    Small business is very important to the city of Clinton. So why when one of Clinton's small business owners such as Sullivan Bros. asks for a zoning change from C2 to M2 is it met with opposition from our City Council? This family owned business has

    March 26, 2014

  • More school cuts? Look somewhere else It doesn't take much imagination to see the growing financial storm that will hit the state of Illinois in the not-so-distant future. As we reported last week, the state shelled out an obscene $318 million in 2013 in tax receipts (translation: your m

    March 25, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook