The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

Opinion
  • Life experience and judging How did the Supreme Court manage to agree unanimously that police must obtain a warrant before searching cellphones, yet split on whether employers must offer contraception as part of their health care plans?My explanation, slightly crude but perhaps

    July 4, 2014

  • Enjoy our nation's independence today Today is a good day.It’s pretty much a day off from work. We have an excuse to light fireworks. The day usually provides a beautiful backdrop to do something with friends and family. And we pretty much can’t ruin the holiday by not honoring the spiri

    July 4, 2014

  • Happy 4th of July DEAR READERS: Happy July 4th! Here’s a little history of the Liberty Bell:The Pennsylvania Assembly ordered the Liberty Bell in 1751 to commemorate the 50-year anniversary of William Penn’s Charter of Privileges, the original Constitution of the stat

    July 4, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg U.S. loss on World Cup pitch was a win back home

    Exuberant fans - even those who couldn't tell you what offsides means - cheered on the U.S. men's national team during the World Cup in Brazil. Are those fans excited enough to keep watching soccer now that the United States has been eliminated?

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Group's faith in Clinton leads to positive change As with all good projects, it begins with a vision.Vision 8 began with a small group of people meeting with Pastor Ron Lott of First Baptist Church and discussing some of the negative attitudes and perceptions of a small, but vocal, part of the commu

    July 3, 2014

  • Planting trees ought to be strongly backed Nature Conservancy scientists are collaborating with Dow Chemical Co. to develop a plan that would help solve several environmental problems with one effort — plant more trees. As a way to reduce the need for expensive equipment to capture pollutants

    July 3, 2014

  • Slow down on the affection DEAR ANNIE: I am a 76-year-old man. After 46 years of a happy marriage, my precious wife passed away four years ago.I live in the country and have become acquainted with several single women around my age who are widows or divorcees and live within a

    July 3, 2014

  • Scope for conscience The major media's account of the Supreme Court's decision in the Hobby Lobby case was typical of the way the case has been misreported from the start. The New York Times headline read, "Supreme Court Rejects Contraceptives Mandate for Some Corporatio

    July 2, 2014

  • Lindley, Tom.jpg Follow closely as a dozen colleges do the conference shuffle

    Regional affiliations that once defined college athletic conferences are a thing of the past, replaced by the powerful attraction of large markets and big-money television deals. The good news for fans is that the competition has never been better.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Reader: Birtell made a difference in library's history Amy Birtell, she brought the Clinton Public Library from the dark ages to the new golden ages of what a modern public library can be; not just a static informational marvel, but a cultural center. I have seen blues musicians there as well as classic

    July 1, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook