The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Opinion

Opinion
  • There are many approaches to solve bed-wetting issue DEAR ANNIE: This is in response to "Bedwetter," who is afraid to move in with his girlfriend for fear she'll find out he still wets the bed. My oldest son had a problem with bedwetting and was unable to attend sleepovers because he didn't want his fr

    March 29, 2014

  • Actions speak louder than Kirk's, Durbin's words Illinois' two U.S. senators, Dick Durbin and Mark Kirk, claim they're all for electronic filing of campaign finance reports -- but unfortunately not enough to actually do it. House members file their campaign finance disclosures online, which gives t

    March 29, 2014

  • Randy Meier Nationwide 2013 fraud stats released One of the biggest aids to me in Seniors vs. Crime is the Federal Trade Commission's (FTC) Consumer Sentinel. Consumer Sentinel is a national database of consumer complaints of fraud, identity theft and Do Not Call Registry complaints. I submit many

    March 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • State seeks answers with more secret meetings It might seem fitting to hear a lieutenant governor talking so much about government transparency during Sunshine Week -- a period dedicated to public access to the workings of government. But Iowa Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds' recent impromptu references t

    March 28, 2014

  • Council makes right decision on Adcraft Mistakes happen. Trust me, I've made my share of them. When they happen, you can either deny, deny, deny and learn nothing. Or sometimes, if you're lucky, an opportunity presents itself to change course and make things right. That's what happened thi

    March 28, 2014

  • Slippery slopes before the court In the context of talking about limits on free speech, it's common to say that your freedom to swing your fist ends where my nose begins. That seems like a sensible way to think about the freedom of religion case just argued before the Supreme Court:

    March 28, 2014

  • The Clinton Herald Holly Youngquist photo Lyons branch library's last day will be March 29 The Clinton Public Library has some great new titles for you! Check out: "Healthy Joints for Life" by Richard Diana, "The Wildlife-Friendly Vegetable Gardener" by Tammi Hartung, "The Confident Mom" by Joyce Meyer, and "You Must Remember This" by Rob

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Vote no on banning raw milk sales in Illinois I find this bill to be politics as usual, sneaky and under handed. I for one will be out of business and will be unable to sell raw milk anymore. This is one way to cut back on the tax base in Illinois as I will no longer be able to pay taxes on a pr

    March 27, 2014

  • Clinton Schools Royalty Week celebrates achievements As the proud superintendent of the Clinton Community School District it gives me great pleasure to announce that during the week of March 31-April 4, 2014, the district will be celebrating Clinton Schools Royalty Week. During this week, it is the dis

    March 27, 2014

  • Jury rightly decides a mistake is not a crime Kelli Jo Griffin has a criminal record, but she got her life back on track and wanted to become engaged in her community by voting in a local election. For that act, the state of Iowa accused Griffin of a criminal act that could have put her in priso

    March 26, 2014

Poll

With the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission and the Clinton County Board of Supervisors discussing proposals to construct a new jail, do you think the time has come for Clinton County to construct such a facility?

Yes
No
     View Results
Facebook