Northeast’s DJ Fulton and Preston’s Colton Bormann were the only repeat selections on the All-Big East Conference baseball honor teams that were announced Monday.

Fulton, a junior, earned first-team honors as the catcher for the second year in a row. He ranked second in the Big East with a .556 batting average and led the league with seven home runs and 33 runs batted in. Bormann, a sophomore who led the conference with a .660 batting average and had three home runs and 23 RBIs, was named first team at third base. He was a first-team pick as a utility player last season.

Libson junior Marshall Morgan was named the conference’s Most Valuable Player. He posted a 7-1 record on the mound with a league-best 1.96 earned-run average and also batted .358.

Camanche’s Darry; Cochran and Calamus-Wheatland’s Dave Rock, who guided their teams to a tie for the conference title with 12-6 records, shared league Coach of the Year honors.

The Indians put a pair of players on the first team, while the Warriors had one.

Senior Brady Grell, a second-team pick at shortstop two years ago, was named to the first team as a pitcher for Camanche, while teammate Brett Johnson, also a senior, was selected in the outfield. Grell had a 5-0 record and 2.74 ERA, batted .452 with four homers and 21 RBIs, and was 12 for 12 stealing bases. Johnson batted .375 with two homers and 20 RBIs, and he was successful on 10 of 13 stolen base attempts.

Todd Daehn, a senior who was a second-team first baseman a year ago, made the first team in the outfield for Calamus-Wheatland. He batted .500 with 18 RBIs and was 9 for 10 stealing.

Three other players joined Daehn in moving up from the second team.

Bellevue’s Cole Reeg was named the first-team second baseman, while senior teammate Bret Boeckenstedt was honored as a utility player. Reeg, a second-team outfielder last season, batted .478 with 19 RBIs. Boeckenstedt, the second-team second baseman last year after earning first-team honors there the previous season, batted .468 with three home runs and 25 RBIs.

Preston junior Jason Feddersen moved up to the first team at shortstop after batting .528 with three homers and 17 RBIs in conference action.

The Trojans and Comets each had one other player make the first team, both tying for the honor at first base. Preston junior Alex Hinerichsen batted .441 with five homers, 21 RBIs, while junior Ron Schroeder of Bellevue batted .491 with 16 RBIs.

Mitch Haferbier, a junior at Northeast, also earned first-team honors as a utility player. He batted .370 with two home runs and 14 RBIs and was 5-1 with a 2.88 ERA on the mound.

Rounding out the first team were Lisbon junior Jordan Bahl (.373) in the outfield and Midland sophomore Kasey Lasack (.453, 3-1, 4.93 ERA) as a utility player.

Cal-Wheat’s Jeff Mente was a repeat selection in the second-team outfield.

East Central and Marquette Catholic each placed three players on the second team. Senior Athony Sinn, who batted .410, was named honorable mention, the only Prince of Peace player receiving honors.


First team

Pitchers — Marshall Morgan, jr. (Lisbon); Brady Grell, sr. (Camanche).

Catcher — DJ Fulton, jr. (Northeast).

Infieldiers — First base (tie), Ron Schroeder, jr. (Bellevue) and Alex Hinerichsen, jr. (Preston); second base, Cole Reeg, so. (Bellevue); shortstop, Jason Feddersen, jr. (Preston); third base, Colton Bormann, so. (Preston).

Outfielders — Jordan Bahl, jr. (Lisbon); Brett Johnson, sr. (Camanche); Todd Daehn, sr. (Calamus-Wheatland).

Utility players — Bret Boeckenstedt, sr. (Bellevue); Kasey Lasack, so. (Midland); Mitch Haferbier, jr. (Northeast).

Second team

Pitchers — Aaron Schwager, sr. (Marquette Catholic); John Diercks, so. (Calamus-Wheatland).

Catcher — Jacob Klone, sr. (Camanche).

Infielders — First base, Cole Atkinson, jr. (Camanche); second base, Ben Hildebrandt, so. (East Central); shortstop, Isaac Sturm, so. (Marquette); third base, Austin Daniels, jr. (East Central).

Outfielders — Kyle Pegorick, so. (Midland); Parker Pankowski, so. (Marquette Catholic); Jeff Mente, sr. (Calamus-Wheatland).

Utility players — Taylor Keeney, sr. (East Central); Marshall Shedeck, so. (Midland); Taylor Grim, sr. (Camanche).

Honorable mention

Peyton Wolter (Bellevue), J.J. Schwennen (Calamus-Wheatland), Dalles Johnson (Camanche), Kyle Johnson (East Central), Kolbi Kohl (Lisbon), Jake Gerlach (Marquette Catholic), Ryan Andresen (Midland), Tevin Stoecker (Northeast), Blake Tebbe (Preston), Anthony Sinn (Prince of Peace).

Most Valuable Player — Morgan.

Coach of the Year — Tie, Dave Rock (Calamus-Wheatland) and Darryl Cochran (Camanche).

Final conference standings

    W    L

Calamus-Wheatland    12    6

Camanche    12    6

Bellevue    11    7

Lisbon    11    7

Midland    11    7

Preston    11    7

Northeast    8    10

Marquette Catholic    5    13

Prince of Peace    0    18

This Week's Circulars