Brady Oldag of Preston and Ryan Powers of Calamus-Wheatland earned all-state honors on the Iowa Newspaper Association boys basketball teams that were announced today.

Powers, a 6-foot-2 junior who was the Big East Conference’s Most Valuable Player, earned first-team honors in Class 1A, while Oldag was a third-team pick in 1A.

Powers averaged 22.1 points a game for the Warriors. He shot 49.7 percent from the field and 70.5 percent from the free-throw line.

Oldag, a 6-6 senior, averaged 15.3 points and 6.8 rebounds a game for the Trojans. He shot 62.4 percent from the field.

Four players from the Mississippi Athletic Conference were honored in Class 4A. Bettendorf’s Seth VanDeest and Davenport Central’s Hal Bateman earned first-team honors, while John Lindstrom of Pleasant Valley and Brandon Voss of North Scott were placed on the third team. Voss is a sophomore, the others seniors.

Brennan Cougill, a 6-9 senior from Sioux City Heelan, was named Mr. Basketball. Cougill, an Iowa recruit, averaged 17.8 points and 13.4 rebounds a game. He led the Crusaders to the Class 3A state title Saturday with a 28-point performance against Carroll.

This Week's Circulars