Preston senior pitcher Kelcie Bormann was named to the first team for the fifth consecutive year and picked up the Big East Conference Most Valuable Player award for the third time as the league announced its all-conference softball team Monday.

Bormann went 12-1 with a 0.49 earned-run average to lead the Trojans to a 13-1 conference record and the league title. She also led the league with a .580 batting average, hitting three home runs and driving in 23 runs in conference play.

Two of Bormann’s teammates joined her on the first team — sophomore second baseman Cassie Aldis, who ranked second in the league with a .488 batting average, and senior Megan Zeimet, a two-time second-team pick who batted .280 in league games. The Trojans also were represented by senior outfielder Nicole Trenkamp, a repeat selection on the second team.

Bormann, who also won MVP honors in 2008 and 2010, was one of six players to repeat as a first-team selection.

Bellevue pitcher Caley Medinger earned first-team honors for the third consecutive year, as did senior utility player Karlee Rock of Calamus-Wheatland. Medinger was 7-4 as a pitcher with a 1.31 ERA and batted .426 with a homer and 12 RBIs in Big East games. Rock also had a homer and 12 RBIs while batting .478, and she was 3-5 with a 3.34 ERA in the pitcher’s circle.

The other repeat picks from last year’s first team were Northeast junior first baseman Carlie Dever (.383), Marquette Catholic senior outfielder Paige Daugherty (.436, three homers, 11 RBIs) and Lisbon sophomore utility player Ali Givens (.462, 13 stolen bases). Daugherty also earned first-team honors in 2008 and was a second-team selection in 2009, as was Givens.

Northeast senior Demi Diedrich, who moved up from the second team, was named first team at shortstop. She ranked third in the conference with a .487 batting average and was 23 for 23 stealing bases. Calamus-Wheatland junior outfielder Lori Meyer (.360) joined Diedrich and Zeimet in moving up from the second team.

Rounding out the first team were Bellevue senior catcher Hope Walgamuth (.419, two homers, six RBIs), Bellevue senior second baseman Kayla Tott (.351, seven RBIs), Calamus-Wheatland sophomore third baseman Abby Pewe (.452, one homer, eight RBIs) and Lisbon sophomore outfielder Zeva Light (.444, 12 RBIs, 13 steals).

Trenkamp was one of four players to make the second team for the second year in a row, joining Camanche second baseman Morgan Mussmann (.326), Camanche utility player Kylie Vogel (.457) and Northeast utility player Sammi Farrell (.294, 5-4, 3.19 ERA), who made the second team for the third time.

Bob Bunting, who guided Lisbon to a 10-4 record and second-place finish, was named Coach of the Year for the second time in three seasons.


First team

Pitchers — Caley Medinger, sr. (Bellevue), Kelcie Bormann, sr. (Preston).

Catcher — Hope Walgamuth, sr. (Bellevue).

Infielders — First base, Carlie Dever, jr. (Northeast); second base (tie), Kayla Tott, sr. (Bellevue) and Cassie Aldis, so. (Preston); shortstop, Demi Diedrich, sr. (Northeast); third base, Abby Pewe, so. (Calamus-Wheatland).

Outfielders — Paige Daugherty, sr. (Marquette Catholic); Zeva Light, so. (Lisbon); Lori Meyer, jr. (Calamus-Wheatland).

Utility players — Ali Givens, so. (Lisbon); Karlee Rock, sr. (Calamus-Wheatland); Megan Zeimet, sr. (Preston).

Second team

Pitchers — Haley Pulse, sr. (Camanche); McKenna Kilburg, fr. (Lisbon).

Catcher — Emily Svatosch, sr. (Lisbon).

Infielders — First base, Brittany Frey, so. (Lisbon); second base, Morgan Mussmann, fr. (Camanche); shortstop, Mickenzie Powers, sr. (Calamus-Wheatland); third base, Brooke Puckett, jr. (Northeast).

Outfielders — Nicole Trenkamp, sr. (Preston); Sydney Gray, sr. (Northeast); Kayla Minor, sr. (Calamus-Wheatland).

Utility players — Kelsey Ernst (Bellevue); Cassie Johnson (Calamus-Wheatland); Brooke Cochran (Camanche); Alex Miothart (Lisbon); Andrea Frank (Marquette Catholic); Shelby Hageman (Midland); Taylor Kaczinski (Northeast); Lizzie Meier (Preston).

Most Valuable Player — Bormann.

Coach of the Year — Bob Bunting (Lisbon).

Final standings

    W    L

Preston    13    1

Lisbon    10    4

Bellevue    8    6

Northeast    8    6

Marquette Catholic    7    7

Calamus-Wheatland    5    9

Camanche    5    9

Midland    0    14