PLEASANT VALLEY — Clinton’s Jan Wecker claimed the Mississippi Athletic Conference title in the No. 2 singles bracket in leading the River Kings tennis team to second place finish.

Bettendorf won the team crown with 23 points, while Clinton was seven back at 16.

Wecker defeated Davenport Central’s Jon O’Leary in the title match 3-6, 6-3, 10-7.

In the No. 1 singles bracket, Clinton’s Josh Lawrence claimed third place with a 10-4 win in the finals.

Elliott Deering and Drew Lakin each took second as they reached the championship tilt before falling.

The River Kings sent each of their doubles teams to the finals, but each team fell short to take second.

Senior Stephen McEleney took fourth in the No. 5 singles bracket.

“I was proud of the team effort,” Clinton head coach Dave Moore said. “ We scored points in each division and kept it close until the second day, but I was proud of the team’s effort.”

The River Kings will travel to Camanche on Tuesday to take on the Indians.


At Pleasant Valley

Team scores

1, Bettendorf 23; 2, Clinton 16; 3, Davenport Central 12.5; 4, Pleasant Valley 8; 5(tie), Muscatine 5; 5(tie), Burlington 5; 7(tie), North Scott 3; 7(tie); Davenport Assumption 3; 9, Davenport West 1; 10, Davenport North 0.

No. 1 singles

Consolation—Josh Lawrence (C) def. Zinnekar (NS) 10-4

No. 2 singles

Championship—Jan Wecker (C) def. O’Leary (DC) 3-6, 6-3, 10-7.

No. 3 singles

Championship—D. Desimone (Bett) def. Elliott Deering (C)ß 6-2, 6-3.

No. 4 singles

Championship—Constantinou (Bett) def. Drew Lakin (C) 6-1, 6-1.

No. 5 singles

Consolation—Healy (PV) def. Stephen McEleney (C) 10-3.

No. 1 doubles

Championship—Beckert-O’Leary (DC) def. Lawrence-Deering (C) 6-4, 6-4.

No. 2 doubles

Championship—Burdekan-Johnson (Bett) def. Lakin-McEleney (C) 6-4, 6-1.

No. 3 doubles

Championship—Constantinou-Speer (Bett) def. Wecker-Sullivan 6-0, 6-2.

This Week's Circulars