DeWitt golf

Tyler Murphy of DeWitt, eyes a putt.

The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Herald Staff Report

DE WITT — It was a day of close-but-not-quite for the Central DeWitt boys golfers Tuesday at the Class 3A sectional tournament at Springbrook Country Club.

Coming off back-to-back state meet appearances, the Sabers saw their season end as they finished third in the team race. Juniors Ethan Nelson and Brett McGranahan also just missed advancing to the district tournament, placing fifth and sixth, respectively in the medalist race. The top two teams and top four individuals advance from each sectional.

Four golfers shot 6-over-par 76s to lead the event, which was rescheduled from last Friday because of heavy rain. Sam Hermann of Mount Vernon won the tiebreaker to claim medalist honors, with Jordan Azbell of Western Dubuque taking second place. Lucas Mulholland of Mount Vernon was third, John McCoy of Western Dubuque fourth. The highlight for Hermann was a three-hole stretch on the front nine that started with back-to-back birdies on the par-5 seventh and par-4 eighth holes, followed by an eagle-2 on No. 9.

Western Dubuque edged Mount Vernon by one stroke, 318-319, for team honors. Central DeWitt finished at 326.

Nelson led Central DeWitt with a 77. Only Hermann (1-under-34) had a better front-nine score than Nelson’s 36. Nelson had six pars, along with a birdie-4 on No. 7, on the front side of his home course.

McGranahan, meanwhile, tied for the second-best score on the back side with a 37 that featured seven pars and two bogeys. Senior Tyler Murphy, like Nelson and McGranahan a member of the two Central DeWitt teams that made it to state, shot a 43-38—81.

Maquoketa finished fourth in the team standings with a 331 total. Kyle Clark led the Cardinals, who turned in four scores all within six strokes of each other, with a 43-37—80. His back nine included a stretch from No. 11 to No. 15 where he had a pair of pars sandwiched around a birdie on the par-5 13th hole. Teammate Tyler Hillebrand eagled that hole.

Team standings

(Top two advance to district meet)

1. Western Dubuque 318; 2. Mount Vernon 319; 3. Central DeWitt 326; 4. Maquoketa 331; 5. Clear Creek-Amana 332; 6. Anamosa 339; 7. Williamsburg 357. 8. Marion 357.

Individual leaders

(Top four advance to district meet)

1. Sam Hermann (MV) 34-42—76; 2. Jordan Azbell (WD) 40-36—76; 3. Lucas Mulholland (MV) 38-38—76; 4. John McCoy (WD) 38-38—76; 5. Ethan Nelson (CD) 36-41—77; 6. Brett McGranahan (CD) 41-37—78; 7. Deg Reynolds (Ana) 40-39—79; 8. (tie) Kyle Clark (Maq) 43-37—80, Nile Eckermann (CCA) 41-39—80, Chris Kerr (MV) 41-39—80.

WESTERN DUBUQUE (318) — Azbell 76, McCoy 76, Logan Bahl 82, Sam Hoeger 84, Sean Snyder 85, Luke Crouse 93.

MOUNT VERNON (319) — Hermann 76, Mulholland 76, Kerr 80, Ben Deininger 87, Nelson Jerabek 89, Marshall Kray 98.

CENTRAL DEWITT (326) — Nelson 77, McGranahan 78, Tyler Murphy 81, Mitch Emerson 90, John Reynolds 92, Dylan Petersen 101.

MAQUOKETA (331) — Clark 80, Tyler Hillebrand 83, Joey Evans 83, Alex Beck 85, Conner Taylor 93, Derek Hopson 118.

CLEAR CREEK-AMANA (332) — Eckermann 80, Michael Rugger 82, Jeremy Hahn 84, Curtis Christiansen 86, Keegan Walters 116, Lukas Jones 120.

ANAMOSA (339) — Reynolds 79, Adam Corpstein 83, Nico Costa 86, Mason Eilers 91, Lenny Rhomberg 94, Josh Chadwell 96.

WILLIAMSBURG (357) — Brad Klosterboer 85, Austin Hilligas 87, Chad Malloy 91, Brent Klosterboer 94, Dan Ackerman 97, Brandon Davis 98.

MARION (357) — Matt Schieders 83, Nick Cranny 86, Jordan Rausch 94, Kenneth Wade 94, Nick Meeks 98, Josh Smith 102.

This Week's Circulars