DES MOINES — The Iowa Print Sports Writers Association (IPSWA) announced its All-State boys basketball team on Tuesday, with Northeast’s Lucas Empen and Camanche’s Dev Patel grabbing honors.

The teams are selected by print sports writers across the state of Iowa and include the top-24 high school boys basketball players in each class.

Empen made second team in Class 2A. Empen led the Rebels in scoring, rebounding and blocks. He averaged just over 16 points a game his senior season and pulled down a total of 257 rebounds. He also had the highest free throw percentage on the team (of those shooting 20 or more), putting in 53-70 from the line.

Patel was named to the third team in Class 2A. Patel averaged over 14 points a game to come in second in scoring, but led the Indians in assists and rebounds. He dished the ball off 159 times, which was over 100 more than the next closest. He pulled down 167 board, 49 of them on the offensive end and put up 58 steals in his senior season.

Muscatine’s Joe Wieskamp — a University of Iowa signee — was named the 2018 Mr. Basketball.

This Week's Circulars