The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

November 20, 2013

Fulton pair, Erie trio head honor teams

Herald Staff Report

CLINTON — Three players who led Erie to a share of the division co-title and a Class 1A regional crown and two players who helped Fulton reach the Class 2A super-sectional headline the All-Three Rivers Conference North Division volleyball team.

Senior Courtney Cobert and juniors Savannah Mettler and Mary Chapman represented the Cardinals on the first team, while sophomore Betsy Leonard and junior Chelsea Lesniewski of Fulton were selected to the first team. Rounding out the honor squad were Payton Mink of Riverdale and Sydney Lebahn of Bureau Valley.

Erie finished 12-2 in conference play, was 28-8-1 overall, won the Eastland Regional title and lost to eventual Class 1A state champion Rockford Keith Country Day in the sectional semifinals.

Cobert, the team captain, led Erie with 322 digs and was second with 31 ace serves. Mettler was the team leader in kills (231), was second in digs (154) and ranked third in blocks (16). Chapman had the team high with 544 assists and was fourth with 109 digs.

Fulton overcame a rough start and came on strong in the second half of the season. The Steamers finished the year with a 15-18-3 record that included winning championships at the Riverdale Regional and Farmington Sectional before losing to Minonk Fieldcrest in the super-sectional match. Fieldcrest wound up fourth in the Class 2A state tournament.

Leonard led the Steamers with 264 kills, 170 block touches and 69 stuff blocks. She also had the league high with 119 kills in conference play. Lesniewski had a team-leading 52 aces and was second on the squad with 224 kills and 265 digs.

Fulton sophomore Averi Leitzen earned second-team honors, along with Karlie Stafford and Claire Milnes of Prophetstown. Fulton’s Rachael Beiermann, Morrison’s Chelsea Eads and Adrienne Banks, Prophetstown’s Katie Fringer and Erie’s Rachel Cobert and Peyton Rus were honorable mention selections.


First team

Payton Mink (Riverdale), Courtney Cobert (Erie), Savannah Mettler (Erie), Mary Chapman (Erie), Betsy Leonard (Fulton), Chelsea Lesniewski (Fulton), Sydney Lebahn (Bureau Valley).

Second team

Becca Hoerres (Riverdale), Karlie Stafford (Prophetstown), Claire Milnes (Prophetstown), Averi Leitzen (Fulton), Lindsey Hoffert (Bureau Valley), Megan Rosengren (Sterling Newman), Aubree Schmitt (Sterling Newman), Kayci Howell (Sterling Newman).

Honorable mention

Sydney Mericle (Riverdale), Katie Fringer (Prophetstown), Rachel Cobert (Erie), Peyton Rus (Erie), Rachael Beiermann (Fulton), Val Reuter (Bureau Valley), Sara Nysather (Sterling Newman), Chelsea Eads (Morrison), Adrienne Banks (Morrison), Hannah McCoy (Amboy).