The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

March 6, 2014

Wenzel a 2nd-team all-MAC pick

Herald Staff Report
The Clinton Herald

---- — DAVENPORT — Clinton High senior Erin Wenzel was named to the All-Mississippi Athletic Conference second team in girls basketball by a vote of the conference coaches.

Two other River Queens, senior Jordan Nelson and sophomore Elle Tubbs, were named honorable mention.

Wenzel, a 6-foot-2 center, led the MAC in rebounding, averaging 9.2 a game. She also was the ninth-leading scorer in the conference at 12.5 points a game. She was a second-team choice for the second year in a row.

Tubbs ranked 15th in the conference in scoring at 8.4 points a game, while Nelson finished ninth in assists with 32 while averaging 6.8 points a game.

Conference champion Muscatine claimed the top individual honors.

The Muskies’ Emily Clemens was named Player of the Year and Susan Orvis was voted Coach of the Year by her peers. Muscatine finished 15-1 in conference play. Orvis earned the honor for the second year in a row, while Clemens was a repeat first-team selection.

Clemens, a senior, averaged 14.7 points and ranked first with 69 steals and second with 60 assists. Her teammate, junior Annabel Graettinger, also earned first-team honors. She ranked sixth, right behind Clemens, with a scoring average of 13.4 points a game.

Also named to the first team were North Scott junior Evan Hundley, Pleasant Valley senior Sydney Dwyer, Davenport North freshman Jinaya Houston and Bettendorf teammates Elizabeth Finn, a senior, and Ashton Glaus, a junior. Hundley was a repeat selection, and Finn and Dwyer moved up from the second team a year ago.

Houston led the conference in scoring at 18.9 points a game, finishing just ahead of freshman teammate Jaciana Stowers (18.5), a second-team pick. Houston also finished third in rebounding (8.3 a game).

Glaus ranked third in the conference in scoring at 16.0 points a game. Finn, who averaged 13.3 points a game, led the MAC with 81 assists. Hundley, who averaged 12.7 points, was the top shot-blocker (27) and pulled down 7.4 rebounds. Dwyer, the top 3-point shooter with 52, averaged 15.2 points a game.



First Team

Emily Clemens, sr.; Muscatine; Annabel Graettinger, jr., Muscatine; Evan Hundley, jr., North Scott; Sydney Dwyer, sr., Pleasant Valley; Elizabeth Finn, sr., Bettendorf; Jinaya Houston, fr., Davenport North; Ashton Glaus, jr., Bettendorf.

Second Team

Rachel Edmundsen, jr., North Scott; Jaciana Stowers, fr., Davenport North; Erin Wenzel, sr., Clinton; Maddie Irmen, sr., Davenport Assumption; Maddie Reynolds, sr., Pleasant Valley; Katie Shoultz, sr., Muscatine; Makinze Roman, jr., Davenport Assumption; Karly Soy, jr., North Scott.

Honorable Mention

Elle Tubbs, so., Clinton; Jordan Nelson, sr., Clinton; Arianna Harris, sr., Burlington; Brooke Garnica, sr., Davenport West; Mariah Mayfield, fr., Davenport West; McKenzie Dunn, so., Davenport West; Lana Lindstrom, so., Pleasant Valley; Abby Elceser, sr., Pleasant Valley; Sydney MAyes, fr., Davenport Central; Noel Robinson, fr., Davenport Central; Makayla Buck, jr., Davenport Central; Karli Rucker, fr., North Scott; Jamie White, sr., Davenport Assumption; Riley Behan, jr., Davenport Assumption; Allyson Scott, jr., Bettendorf.

Coach of the Year — Susan Orvis, Muscatine.

Player of the Year — Emily Clemens, Muscatine.

Final conference standings


Muscatine 15 1

Assumption 14 2

Pleasant Valley 12 4

North Scott 11 5

Bettendorf 10 6

North 6 10

West 6 10

Clinton 4 12

Central 2 14

Burlington 0 16