The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

March 20, 2014

DeWitt, Maquoketa receive high accolades

The Clinton Herald

---- — CLINTON — There’s lot of promise in DeWitt as both first team recipients of the Central DeWitt squad are both underclassmen.

Amanda Brainerd was just one of seven unanimous selections to the All-WaMaC girls group, and was one of two sophomores as the seven unanimous picks.

Brainerd had a great year as she finished tied for third (with Williamsburg’s Paige Greiner) in points a game with 16 while Center Point-Urbana had the two top leading scorers.

Brainerd shot 51 percent from the floor while making 75 percent of her free throws as a total of her 371 points. This season was an improvement from her freshman season, when she tallied nine points a game on 47 percent shooting. The sophomore is six points shy of 600 career points.

DeWitt junior Miranda Meland was also named to the Southeast All-WaMaC first team. Meland scored just over 10 points a game thanks to her 53 made 3-pointers, which was best in the conference. Meland was 53-for-173 from downtown during DeWitt’s regular season.

Her 53 made 3-pointers was good enough to be the fourth-highest in all of Class 4A. The state leader in 3-pointers in Class 4A was Jenna Bork from Sioux City Bishop Heelan with 71 made treys.

Meland nearly doubled her made 3-pointers from last season from 28 makes from 3-point territory last season. She also upped her points per game total from nine points a game in 2012-13.

Michalyn Mohr of Marion was the other unanimous selection from the Southeast division. Mohr averaged just under 13 points per game on 53 percent shooting.

Meanwhile, for the Maquoketa Cardinals, sophomore Chiara Atienza found herself on the Southeast first team. Atienza scored 8.8 points a game for Maquoketa on 193 points and 38 percent shooting. In her freshman year, Atienza scored 106 points, averaging just under five points a game, third-best among the Cardinals in 2012-13.

Maquoketa had a second team representative — senior Aubree Taylor. Taylor scored 6.5 points per game this season on 36 percent shooting. Taylor was the team’s leading scorer her junior year.

DeWitt had two honorable mention accolades — seniors Abby Willis and Gretchen Henningsen received the honors. The senior duo played in all 23 games for the Sabers.

Henningsen made her mark at the free throw line making 20 of her 30 free throws this season; Willis averaged 3.4 points a game.

The Cardinals also had two players receiving honorable mention honors, sophomore Amy Wirth and senior Allison Vandemore.



First Team

Megan Maahs, so., Western Dubuque; Rose Simon-Ressler, jr., Western Dubuque; Reeann McCarty, sr., West Delaware; Blair Klostermann, jr., Dyersville Beckman; Kelsey Ratchford, sr., Independence.

Second Team

Molly Gustafson, sr., Independence; Bethany Hahn, sr., West Delaware; Madison Smith, fr., Anamosa; Zoey Weber, sr., Western Dubuque; Brooke Klostermann, jr., Dyersville Beckman.

Honorable Mention

Anamosa: Karli Oltmann, sr., Tawny Menster, jr.; Beckman: Mikala Maiers, sr., Kayla Decker, sr.; Independence: Steph McMillan, sr., Paige Davis, sr.; West Delaware: Haley Morrison, jr., Kasey Palmer, jr.; W. Dubuque: Molly Lembezeder, sr., Mikaela Armstrong, jr.

Coach of the Year — Harold Shepherd, West Delaware


First Team

Amanda Brainerd, so., Central DeWitt; Michalyn Mohr, jr., Marion; Miranda Chapman, sr., Mount Vernon; Chiara Atienza, so., Maquoketa; Miranda Meland, jr., Central DeWitt.

Second Team

Amanda Sahm, jr., Marion; Alli Platte, jr., Mount Vernon; Aubree Taylor, sr., Maquoketa; Ali Herdliska, jr., Solon; Josie Durrm fr., Solon.

Honorable Mention

Marion: Jozee Peyton, jr., Tessa Jordan, so.; Solon: Alex Henry, sr., Shelby Gunnells, jr.; Mt. Vernon: Libby Ryan, fr., Kaitlyn Volesky, fr.; DeWitt: Abby Willis, sr., Gretchen Henningsen, sr.; Maquoketa: Amy Wirth, so., Allison Vandemore, sr.

Coach of the year — Mark Kurtz, Central DeWitt


First Team

Paige Greiner, sr., Williamsburg; Arika Wooldridge, so., Center Point-Urbana; Kennedy Salow, sr., Center Point-Urbana; Alyssa Wiebel, soph., Benton Community; Claire Simmons, so., Williamsburg.

Second Team

Hanna Stokes, jr., Clear Creek Amana; Bethany Stainbrook, sr., Vinton-Shellsburg; Maci Griffith, soph., Vinton-Shellsburg; Tina Lane, sr., Williamsburg; Sadie Ritchie, sr., Williamsburg.

Honorable Mention

CP-U: Shelby Brecht, sr., Brittany Buelow, sr.; CCA: Lexi Kinnard, jr., Hannah Mougin, jr.; Williamsburg: Olivia Bigbee, sr., Maeve Broeg, sr.; Vinton-Shellsburg: Anna Sagan, so., Ashley McKenna, sr.; Benton Comm.: Maggie Weirather, sr., Natalie Parizek, jr.

Coach of the year — Aaron Feddersen, Williamsburg