The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

March 2, 2013

Prophets reap awards

By Kurt Ritzman
Assistant Sports Editor

CLINTON — Two Prophetstown girls basketball players were unanimous selections to the All-Three Rivers Conference first team, and the Prophets’ Don Robinson was named co-Coach of the Year in the conference.

Prophetstown seniors Cassie Reiley and Riley Walters were two of six first-team choices. Riverdale, which tied the Prophets for the league title at 13-1, also had two unanimous first-team selections in seniors Elle May and Player of the Year Hannah Nimrick. Erie junior Courtney Cobert and Sterling Newman senior Rachel Hageman rounded out the first team.

Reiley, Walters, May, Nimrick and Hageman were all repeat first-team selections. Robinson was selected as Coach of the Year in 2012, as well.

Walters led the Prophets with 12.1 points a game and grabbed a team-high 141 rebounds.

“She was pretty unselfish,” Robinson said. “I call it balanced. Other teams didn’t know if she was going to shoot or pass. She was also undersized as a post, but she used her quickness to drive past taller players.”

Robinson said Walters, who finished 11th on Prophetstown’s career scoring list with 963 points, was strong.

“She likes to lift weights, but that’s not where her strength comes from,” Robinson said. “She’s a farm girl. She lives on a farm and she does all the chores. Her strength comes from that. Plus she’s a worker.”

Reiley scored four fewer points than Walters over the course of the season and averaged 12 a game. She led the team with 100 assists and set a school season record with 72 made 3-pointers.

“The big thing about her is she played really well in big games,” Robinson said. “She’s a really head-up player. She likes basketball and thinks about basketball. You can tell by the way she plays.”

Reiley finished her career sixth all-time in scoring at Prophetstown with 1,228 points.

“She’s worked really hard on her 3-ball shot,” Robinson said. “But she’s also good at distributing, shooting layups and mid-range shots.”

Reiley and Walters combined for 2,191 points and led the Prophets to four regional titles in their careers.

“A lot of their success depended on each other,” Robinson said.

Cobert led Erie to a fourth-place finish in conference play by leading the Cardinals in scoring at a little over 8 points a game, assists and steals, in which she grabbed more than 100 for the third straight season. Cobert was also third on the team in rebounding.

“She did a lot of everything for us,” Erie coach Brian Howell said.

Fulton senior Morgan Wierema and Morrison junior Chelsea Eads were named to the second team, as was Prophetstown sophomore Corrie Reiley.


First team

Riley Walters*, sr. (Prophetstown); Cassie Reiley*, sr. (Prophetstown); Hannah Nimrick*, sr. (Riverdale); Elle May*, sr. (Riverdale); Courtney Cobert, jr. (Erie); Rachel Hageman, sr. (Sterling Newman).

Second team

Morgan Wierema, sr. (Fulton); Corrie Reiley, so. (Prophetstown); Chelsea Eads, jr. (Morrison); Jennifer Ensley, sr. (Kewanee); Mary Alice Oswalt, jr. (Newman); Autumn Smith, sr. (Amboy); Sydney Mericle, jr. (Riverdale); Lauren Claus, jr. (Riverdale).

Honorable mention

Erie — Paige Rus, sr.; Rachel Cobert, fr.; Laykin Miner, jr.; Fulton — Morgan Sanquist, sr.; Prophetstown — Clare Kramer, so.; Amboy — Kaitlyn Liebing, so.; Brooke Lovgren, sr.; Bureau Valley — Heaven Bennett, so.; Kewanee — Amber Jordan, sr.; Newman — Jaimie Hurd, sr.; Aubree Schmidt, so.; Riverdale — Jess Corson, sr.

* — unanimous

Player of the Year — Nimrick.

co-Coach of the Year — Don Robinson (Prophetstown), Mick Kopriva (Riverdale).

Final standings

    W    L

Prophetstown    13    1

Riverdale    13    1

Newman    9    5

Erie    8    6

Kewanee    7    7

Amboy    6    8

Fulton    5    9

Morrison    2    12

Bureau Valley    0    14

Sophomore standings

    W    L

Prophetstown    14    0

Kewanee    11    3

Fulton    10    4

Erie    9    5

Newman    7    7

Bureau Valley    5    9

Amboy    4    10

Riverdale    2    12

Morrison    0    14