The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

March 6, 2014

Prophetstown pair honored in Class 2A

Herald Staff Report
The Clinton Herald

---- — CHICAGO — A pair of juniors who led Prophetstown to a runner-up finish in the Illinois Class 2A girls basketball state tournament have been named honorable mention all-state players by the Associated Press.

Clare Kramer and Corrie Reiley, the top two scorers for the Prophets team that finished 31-3, were placed on the honorable mention list. Five players were named first team in each of the four classes, with five players also selected to the second team.

Kramer, a 5-foot-8 forward, averaged 10.6 points a game for the Prophets, with Reiley, a 5-2 guard, right behind at 10.4.

Media members from across the state voted on the teams, and a player had to be named on at least two ballots to receive recognition.

Champaign St. Thomas More, which beat Prophetstown in the Class 2A title game Saturday night, was represented by 6-foot-4 sophomore Tori McCoy on the first team and 6-0 junior Lexi Wallen on the second team.

Tyra Buss, a 5-7 senior from Mount Carmel, was a unanimous pick, and the first team also included Samantha Lambrigtsen of Oregon, the team Prophetstown beat in the sectional semifinal. Ellie Lehne of Byron, which Prophetstown beat in the sectional final, and Rebekah Ehresman of El Paso-Gridley, the team the Prophets beat in the super-sectional, were second-team picks.

Celina Van Hyfte of state champion Annawan was a unanimous pick in Class 1A. Eastland junior Lexis Macomber also was named to the first team.

There were no unanimous picks in 3A or 4A. Those classes hold their state semifinals Friday and finals Saturday in Normal, Ill.


Here are the Illinois all-state girls basketball teams, as voted on by a panel of statewide sports writers and broadcasters and compiled by John Radtke of the Arlington Heights Daily Herald. Players were awarded 5 points for a first-team vote and 4 points for a second-team vote. A player had to be named on at least two ballots to receive honorable mention:


First Team

Celina Van Hyfte, Annawan, 6-0, Sr., 115 (unanimous)

Morgan Atherton, Century, 5-10, Sr., 91

Ryan Dooley, Central A&M, 5-6, So., 88

Lexis Macomber, Lanark Eastland, 6-0, Jr., 87

Ashley Schneider, Nokomis, 5-10, Jr., 85

Second Team

Cierra Davis, Annawan, 5-9, Sr., 84

Haley Darnell, Goreville, 5-6, Sr., 81

Grace Baalman, Hardin-Calhoun, 6-2, Fr., 52

Jaycee Cleaver, Dakota, 5-7, Jr., 47

Addison Stoller, Cissna Park, 5-10, So., 41

HONORABLE MENTION (IN ORDER OF POINT TOTALS) - Megan Foes (Annawan, 5-8 Sr.), Allison Prestegaard (Ashton-Franklin Center, 6-3 Jr.), Megan Sullivan (Arlington Heights Christian Liberty, 5-5 Sr.), Taylor Edwards (Arcola, 5-8 Jr.), Kristen Parsons (Wethersfield, 5-4 Sr.), Kylee Knox (Elgin Harvest Christian Academy, 5-6 Jr.), Danielle Pavlovich (Granville Putnam County, 5-5 Sr.), Jeslyn Roat (Springfield Lutheran, 5-10 Sr.), Dani Lee (Pearl City, 6-0 Jr.), Rachel Colbert (Erie, 5-10 So.), Rachel Williams (Carrollton, 5-11 Jr.), Alina Lance (New Athens, 5-7 So.), Emma Baalman (Hardin-Calhoun, 6-1 So.).


First Team

Tyra Buss, Mt. Carmel, 5-7, Sr., 115 (unanimous)

Devin Curry, Watseka, 5-6, Sr., 79

Samantha Lambrigtsen, Oregon, 5-7, Sr., 79

Madeline Hartke, Teutopolis, 5-9, Sr., 72

Tori McCoy, Champaign St. Thomas More, 6-4, So., 70

Second Team

Ellie Lehne, Byron, 6-2, Jr., 70

Sidney Smith, Carterville, 5-8, Sr., 68

Lexi Wallen, Champaign St. Thomas More, 6-0, Jr., 60

Maddie Timmermann, Breese Central, 5-10, Sr., 60

Rebekah Ehresman, El Paso-Gridley, 5-6, Sr., 50

Note: McCoy was awarded first team over Lehne based on more first-team votes.

HONORABLE MENTION (IN ORDER OF POINT TOTALS) - Kendra Wilken (Breese Central, 6-1 So.), Jordi Harre (Nashville, 5-6 Jr.), Riley Strandgard (Sherrard, 5-10 Sr.), Ali Ringering (Red Bud, 5-8 Sr.), Randa Harshbarger (Champaign St. Thomas More, 5-5 Sr.), Molly McGraw (Bloomington Central Catholic, 5-8 Sr.), Carlie Cuffle (Riverton, 5-11 Sr.), Corrie Reiley (Prophetstown, 5-2 Jr.), Torre Kohrmann (Breese Central, 5-6 Sr.), Madison Greeling (Piasa SW, 5-6 So.), Ashley Ferrell (Harrisburg, 5-5 Sr.), Clare Kramer (Prophetstown, 5-8 Jr.), Caitlyn Welch (Reed-Custer, 5-8 Sr.).


First Team

Kateri Stone, Montini, 6-1, Sr., 101 points

Khadaizha Sanders, Bishop McNamara, 5-5, Jr., 97

Kristen Gengenbacher, Quincy Notre Dame, 5-8, Sr., 91

Jasmine Lumpkin, Joliet Catholic, 6-0, Sr., 79

Olivia Elger, Peoria Richwoods, 5-7, Jr., 77

Second Team

Mary Beth Hugenberg, Quincy Notre Dame, 5-10, Sr., 69

Sydney Smith, Vernon Hills, 5-10, Sr., 64

McKena Miller, Carbondale, 5-11, Sr., 56

Samantha Pryor, Burlington Central, 6-0, So., 48

Morgan Dahlstrom, Grayslake Central, 6-1, Sr., 44

HONORABLE MENTION: Paige Gallimore (Antioch, 5-6 Sr.), Alyssa Jurges (Providence, 5-8 Jr.), Kylie Giebelausen (East Peoria, 6-1 Sr.), Jess Learned (Washington, 5-11 Jr.), Molly DeBrock (Geneseo, 5-9 Sr.), Julia Rosen (Springfield, 5-9 Sr.), Tiana Cook (Decatur Eisenhower, 5-9 Sr.), Chandler Ryan (Morton, 5-6 So.), Anika Webster (Springfield, 5-11 Sr.), Emily Hoard (Massac County, 5-9 Jr.), Matti Bielfeldt (Peoria Notre Dame, 6-0 Sr.), Tori Johnson (Herrin, 5-7 Sr.).


First Team

Khaalia Hillsman, Whitney Young, 6-5, Sr., 89

Jackie Kemph, Rolling Meadows, 5-6, Sr., 88

Kortney Dunbar, Edwardsville, 6-2, Sr., 84

Haley Gorecki, Palatine Fremd, 6-0, Jr., 76

Meghan Waldron, Wheaton Warrenville South, 5-10, Sr., 62

Second Team

Ashton Millender, Marian Catholic, 5-10, Sr., 59

Liza Fruendt, Batavia, 5-8, Sr., 48

Teniya Page, Marian Catholic, 5-7, Jr., 39

Aysyia Bugg, Bolingbrook, 5-9, Sr., 35

Chrissy Baird, Wheaton North, 6-1, Sr., 32

HONORABLE MENTION: Brittany Collins (Maine West, 6-0 Sr.), Alexis Glasgow (Rolling Meadows, 5-11 Sr.), Ali Andrews (Huntley, 6-2 So.), Aaliyah Covington (Edwardsville, 5-11 Sr.), Gabrielle Rush (Hinsdale Central, 5-10 Jr.), Latondra Brooks (Oak Lawn, 5-6 Sr.), Lauren Prochaska (Trinity, 5-8 Sr.), Martha Bruse (Bradley-Bourbonnais, 5-6 Sr.), Deanna Kuzmanic (Wheeling, 5-9 Jr.), Jenny Vliet (Rolling Meadows, 6-2 Sr.), Jensen Blassage (Rockford Boylan, 5-8 Sr.), Karley Kolberg (Rockton Hononegah, 5-10 Sr.), Shay Fluker (Belleville West, 5-10 Jr.).