The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

November 13, 2013

Council seat determined by chance

By Samantha Pidde Herald Staff Writer
The Clinton Herald

---- — CLINTON — Clinton County election results were made official Tuesday and one race was decided by the use of chance.

The Board of Supervisors met to go through the results of each race in the county's Nov. 5 municipal elections. No real changes were discovered in one canvas. However, the board used random chance to decide the Goose Lake council results.

In Goose Lake, three seats on the council were open, with two candidates running, Janice Bormann and Ken Schoon. Write-in candidates Janeen Jensen and Brandon Eberhart tied with five votes. On Tuesday, Chairman John Staszewski drew a name out of a bucket to decide the winner, pulling out Eberhart's name.

The county election results were:

In Andover, Glen Naever was unanimously elected as mayor and Jason Johnson, Kevin Diercks, Bob Naeve, Roger Wilke and Leslie Schroeder were elected to the council at large. The community also passed a proposition to reallocate LOST proceeds, with 13 votes for and five against.

In Calamus, Terry Steines ran unopposed for mayor. Lavern Boedeker and Julie Steffens Kalfas beat Dennis Starling and Paul E. Heur for at large seats. An at large vacancy was filled by Rodney Smith Jr.

In Camanche, incumbent Mayor Ken Fahlbeck beat Councilman Trevor Willis for mayor, 543 votes to 403. Marvin Lind, Michael McManus and William Wruck won the council election, beating Charlie Blount, Linda Kramer, Lewis Creed, Gary Kampe and Greg Nelson.

Peggy Sellnau ran unopposed for mayor in Charlotte. James Keller, Megan Marlow-Graves and Abby Tarr were elected to council at large, beating Sandra Busch.

In Delmar, Patty Hardin was elected mayor and Daryl Eberhart and Bree Suthers Henderson won at large, beating Dan Simmons.

Christina Scheider was elected mayor in Goose Lake.

In Grand Mound, Daniel Behr was elected mayor and Chris Beuthien, Kurt Crosthwaite and Tami Guy were elected to the council at large.

In Lost Nation, James Schroeder beat James McCutheon in the mayoral race, 73 votes to 24. The council at large seats were filled by Derrick Dirks, Ken Lacey and Justin Wagner, who beat Doug Enderle and Beverly Rohling.

Thomas Goldensoph was elected Low Moor's mayor. Derek Hoening, Stephen Jones, Brenda Larkey, Robin Marlowe and Brandi Pray were chosen for at large.

In Toronto, Amber Hayes was named mayor. Three candidates were elected for the five open at large seats: William Earl Eiselstein, Bruce Ewoldt and Elba Scheper.

In Welton, Glen Boswell was elected mayor. Cindy Jocobsen, Billy Koranda and Tamie Simmons beat Casey Hootman for the council at large seats.

Century Schnede beat out Virgil Noel for Wheatland mayor, 71 votes to 38. Jim Roman and Jeremiah Wiese were elected to the council at large.