The Clinton Herald, Clinton, Iowa

Top News

June 16, 2014

Clinton resident places 3rd

CLINTON — The 2014 Miss Iowa Scholarship Program pageant has commenced and Miss Scott County Alysa Lou Olson is this year's winner.

Olson ousted 14 other Miss Iowa hopefuls including three Clinton natives on Saturday at the Adler Theater in Davenport for the top spot. And although the Clinton women didn't receive the crown, they didn't all go home empty handed.

Miss LeClaire Molly McDonnell ended the competition with a $1,700 scholarship as the second runner-up to the crown as well as a preliminary victory in lifestyle and fitness.

McDonnell's fellow Clinton competitors Taylor Wiebers and Brandy Herrington did not place in the top five of the final competition, but Wiebers did carve out a spot in the top 10 finalists round.

With the crowning, Olson will now go on to represent the state in the Miss America pageant in September.

As second runner-up, McDonnell will be asked to oversee the duties of Miss Iowa in the Miss America Pageant if Olson and first runner-up Miss Eastern Iowa Stacy Phipps of Eldridge are unable to do so.

Also crowned on Saturday was Miss Iowa Outstanding Teen Anna Joy Masengarb, Junior Miss Iowa Lydia Fisher and Li'l Miss Iowa Peyton Crumley.

Text Only
Top News
AP Video