SEARCY, Ark. — Brandy Herrington, of Clinton, is one of more than 350 graduates who received a diploma at Harding University's commencement exercises Dec. 15. Herrington received a Master of Science degree in physician assistant studies.

Submit Your News

We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

EAST PEORIA, ILL. — Collin Swanton, of Goose Lake, was named to the Dean's List at Illinois Central College for the Fall 2018 semester. The academic honor is presented to students who earn a 3.5 to 3.99 grade-point average on a 4.0 grading scale.

AMES — More than 2,000 graduates received degrees at Iowa State University’s fall commencement ceremonies. Iowa State awarded 1,803 undergraduate degrees, 234 master’s degrees, 119 doctor of philosophy degrees and one doctor of veterinary medicine degree.


CLINTON — Clinton High School has released its first trimester honor roll. Students named to the list include:

CLINTON — Facilities, financials, student achievement, and teacher retention have been tabbed as four categories the Clinton School District will focus on as the board decides its future goals.

ROCK ISLAND, Illinois — Augustana College announced more than 1,000 students were named to the Dean's List for the 2018 spring term. Students who have earned this academic honor have maintained a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher on a four-point scale for courses taken during the term.

CLINTON — Andrew Howes, a 2012 Clinton High School graduate, recently earned his master's of science in biotechnology from Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island.

CEDAR RAPIDS — The following local students were named to Mount Mercy University’s Spring 2018 Dean’s List. Students with a semester grade-point average of 3.60 or better and who are graded for six or more semester hours are eligible for inclusion on the Dean’s List.

CLINTON — Clinton Community College has announced the Spring 2018 President’s List. Students must earn a minimum of six credit hours and a 4.0 grade-point average during the term.

BETTENDORF — It was during a balloon and laser demonstration while a high school student that Caleb Hoffman first realized he was interested in engineering. He toured a local private college as part of his high school’s talented and gifted program and watched in amazement as the laser blew u…

CLINTON — The Clinton Community College Adult Basic Education department will celebrate the 2018 High School Equivalency Program Graduation at 6 p.m. June 26 in the Clinton Community College Auditorium, 1000 Lincoln Blvd., Clinton.

AMES — A total of 4,809 graduates received degrees at Iowa State University's spring commencement ceremonies. Iowa State awarded 4,023 undergraduate degrees, 512 master's degrees, 144 doctor of veterinary medicine degrees and 130 doctor of philosophy degrees.

MAQUOKETA — Maquoketa’s Peace Pipe Players Community Theatre has awarded this year’s $500 performing arts scholarship to Lucas Spain, a senior at Maquoketa High School in Maquoketa.

INDIANOLA — Alayna Geronzin of Camanche participated in Simpson College’s Research and Creativity Symposium on April 19. The annual Simpson College Research and Creativity Symposium is a multi-disciplinary event that showcases outstanding student work through the presentation of papers, perf…

DES MOINES — Ten Iowa students, including one from DeWitt, have been selected recipients of Iowa Newspaper Foundation scholarships for the 2018-2019 academic year. The scholarships are awarded to students preparing for careers in journalism. This year’s award recipients include:


PHILADELPHIA (AP) — The Museum of the American Revolution is a year old this month and officials say it has landed a decisive victory in capturing tourists' attention in a city with lots of revolutionary competition.

GOOSE LAKE — Thirty-one individual speech students, led by Jennifer Huling, Matt Bolahan and Rachel Pasker represented Northeast High School at the State Individual Speech Contest hosted at Cedar Rapids Kennedy. The team prepared 40 events in 14 categories and earned 15 Straight Division I r…

GOOSE LAKE — Cassidy Jacobsen of Goose Lake has been named to the President’s List at Northwest Missouri State University for the fall 2017 trimester honor roll.

DES MOINES — The following local students have been named to the Dean's List at Drake University. This academic honor is achieved by earning a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher during the Fall 2017 semester at Drake.DeWitt: Chas Cahill.Maquoketa: Tess Nissen.Sterling, Illinois: Kinsey Zacharski.

DUBUQUE — Loras College has announced the names of students who achieved dean's list status for the 2017 fall semester. A student must earn a 3.5 grade-point average and carry a minimum of 12 credit hours to be recognized.

GOOSE LAKE — Forty-nine individual speech students, led by Jennifer Huling, Matt Bolahan and Rachel Pasker, represented Northeast High School at Conference Individual Speech Contest hosted at Iowa City Regina.


FULTON, Ill. — A River Bend school bus driver and three students have been honored for being Steamer Strong in connection with a Feb. 8 bus accident.

GOOSE LAKE — Forty-eight individual speech students, led by Jennifer Huling, Matt Bolahan and Rachel Pasker, represented Northeast High School at the Conference Individual Speech Contest hosted at Iowa City Regina.

DEBALB, Ill. — Northern Illinois University has announced its fall 2017 Dean’s List students. To earn this distinction, students must meet a minimum semester grade-point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale in the College of Engineering and Engineering Technology or a minimum of 3.75 on a 4.0 scale…

Celebrate the Class of 2020

Submit a profile of your favorite graduate to have them featured in our Virtual Graduation 2020 special section. Tout their accomplishments, share their photos, and wish them well!

Coupon XpressClinton Contests

This Week's Circulars