Chamber honors Paul's, leaders and volunteers

From left, Pastor Dan Pool, Lori Susie and Clinton Area Chamber of Commerce President Maureen Miller talk prior to the Chamber's annual meeting Tuesday night at The Tuscany in Clinton. Winona Whitaker/Clinton Herald

CLINTON — Rob and Tammi Cassidy of Paul's Discount in Clinton were named Distinguished Business of the Year by the Clinton Area Chamber of Commerce during its annual meeting Tuesday night.

The Chamber recognized many businesses and individuals for their service to Clinton and the business community during its 147th annual awards meeting at The Tuscany at Rastrelli's in Clinton.

The Chamber recognized retiring Chamber board members Heather Evans from Clinton Community College and Chad Seely from Hy-Vee.

The Chamber awarded certificates to graduates of its 2019 Leadership Institute. They are Jason Balinski and Kristen Kremer of ADM Corn Processing; Jeffrey Beckwith of Beckwith Commercial Roofing; Angela Block, Paul Dotterweich, Chris Evans, Lisa Frederick, Michael McQuistion, Robert Milroy, Jill O'Neill and Joe Raaymakers of the City of Clinton; Wendy Bloomhuff of Rock Valley Physical Therapy, Mindy Burggraaf and Nathan Waldorf of Clinton National Bank; Elisabeth Coffey of Clausen Supply; Amy Dykstra and Keith Vogel of Clinton Community College; Greg Farwell of Citizens First Bank, Brian Johnson of Clinton Engineering Company, Dylan Parker of III Foundation for Fair Contracting, Julie Schultz of Gateway State Bank, Angela Smith of Data Dimensions, Brianna Varner of Clysar and Winona Whitaker with the Clinton Herald.

The Convention and Visitors Bureau recognized 2019 Special Events winners Mike and Olivia Pelham of Clinton Plaza Bowl, Clinton Association Manager Dave Shepherd, President Ray Anderson, Vice President Margo Bousman, Vice President Rob Brashaw, Volunteer Dee Whitmore and Becky Graves.

CVB named Graves the 2019 Champion of Tourism and Sue Raaymakers was honored as outstanding CVB board member.

The Downtown Clinton Alliance recognized Alicya Gorman of Dudad's Hallmark for outstanding service to the downtown area.

Becky Temperly of Howes & Jefferies won the Andy Determann Memorial Award for outstanding board member.

The Karl Schmitz Memorial Award for outstanding ambassador was presented to Tracy Reynolds of Clinton National Bank.

Rich Phelan received the Al Wise Memorial Award for outstanding volunteer. Phelan was not present and was recognized through a video presentation.

Scott Bengston received the Outstanding Young Professional Award, and Dan and Sheralyn Bartels of Don's Jewelry were Small Business Person of the Year.

Fire Chief Mike Brown was named Manager of the Year, and Dave Rose was Community Leader of the Year.

A native of Centerville, Winona comes to the Clinton Herald after writing for the Ottumwa Courier for two years.