CLINTON — As the school year approaches an end, Clinton School District staff have selected students to receive the Jim McGraw Service Awards.

Those students and retiring teachers and district employees were recognized during Monday's school board meeting.

Bluff Elementary School Principal Kristi Cooley introduced Chelsea Boyd to board members and a standing-room-only crowd.

"We can always count on her to be respectful and responsible," Cooley said.

Boyd's short haircut is evidence of her community service, Cooley said. This is the second year that Boyd has had her head shaved as part of St. Baldrick's Foundation's cancer research fundraiser.

Eagle Heights Elementary School faculty chose Carryn Sattler for the McGraw award. Sattler volunteers in many ways, said Principal Rhett Weis, including at church and at Victory Center Ministries, providing meals for those in need.

At school, "She looks out for other students," Weis said.

"We really try to reinforce kindness," said Whittier Elementary Principal Brian Kenney.

When Whittier staff members think of kindness, they think of Andee McClimon, he said. That trait earned McClimon the Jim McGraw Service Award.

Middle School honoree Piper Wiesner was not present at the school board meeting, but Principal Dan Boyd described her as "actively involved in the community."

Wiesner works with various organizations in Clinton such as the Clinton County Conservation Board and a therapeutic equestrian program for special needs students, Boyd said.

At school, Wiesner is involved in student council and Leo Club, a youth organization of Lions Clubs International. She also serves as a peer helper.

Jamaria Brown McDonald, McGraw recipient for Jefferson Elementary, is kind, caring and empathetic, said Principal Theresa Shultz.

"Her honesty keeps her humble," Shultz said. "This is one to watch in the future."

When Clinton High School Principal J. R. Kuch asked the faculty for nominees for the McGraw award, Zach Bohle's name came to the top of the list, Kuch said. Bohle was also the first one who came to Kuch's mind.

Many students at the high school deserve the award, Kuch said.

"However Zach has always gone above and beyond," he said. "And I think he's grown in his leadership abilities."

Bohle has been a leading force in planning the annual Back 2 School Bash, Kuch said. "He tries to influence people positively wherever he goes.

"Our kids can learn a lot from Zach," Kuch said.

District retirees recognized during the board meeting included David Bloom, who came out of retirement to serve as student services director in Clinton and retired again Monday after seven years with the Clinton School District.

Also honored during the meeting were Jefferson Elementary's Debra Britton, who retired with 17 years in the district; custodian Karen Junker, 24 years; third grade teacher Cynthia Cramer, 25 years; second grade teacher Julie Clausen, 35 years; second grade teacher Christine Lackermann, 37 years, and elementary special education teacher Deana Ocheltree, 44 years.

Other retirees are Dana Albrechtsen, Joy Hinrichsen, Annette Leonard, Renee Ottens and Sheila Raasch of Bluff Elementary; Patricia Baker and Pamela Rehr, transporation; Charles DeAngelis, Clinton Middle School; LaRonna Heppner, Clinton High School; and Randall Pollpeter, Jefferson Elementary.

A native of Centerville, Winona comes to the Clinton Herald after writing for the Ottumwa Courier for two years.