CLINTON — Republicans Dan Srp and Jim Irwin Jr. have been elected to a four-year term on the Clinton County Board of Supervisors, according to Tuesday night’s unofficial General Election returns.

Srp, of Camanche, who currently serves on the three-member board, has been elected to a second term. Srp received 9,244 votes, the most among the three Board of Supervisors candidates vying for the two open seats. Srp has served on the Board of Supervisors for four years, and has been a Camanche School Board member and a member of the Clinton/Jackson County Early Childhood Iowa Board.

Irwin, of DeWitt, is elected to his first term on the board. He received 8,620 votes, nearly 1,000 more votes than Democrat Kurt Dreger, who received 7,662 votes.

Irwin received 1,134 votes in two DeWitt precincts and the DeWitt Township precinct, compared to Dreger’s 576. Dreger received the most votes on absentee ballots, totaling 4,033.

Irwin served on the Central DeWitt School Board for 11 years during the time major building projects took place in that district. He owns three businesses and is a native of Clinton County — having grown up in Calamus and graduating from Calamus-Wheatland High School.

McIntyre wins treasurer’s race

In the Clinton County Treasurer’s race, Rhonda McIntyre defeated challenger Emily Gipe. McIntyre amassed 10,894 total votes against Gipe’s 7,092. Five write-in votes were cast.

That equates to 60.5 percent in McIntyre’s favor, against 39.4 percent for Gipe.

Republican McIntyre entered Tuesday’s election as the incumbent, serving as the county’s treasurer since 1995. Newcomer Gipe, the Democratic challenger, brought experience from fund development, according to a candidate forum in early October.

A large portion of the duo’s competition focused on the future of the county’s satellite office in DeWitt. Recent years have featured debate regarding the site’s hours of operation. McIntyre said prior to the election that her goals are continued emphasis on providing the best possible customer service, and increasing the business hours of the DeWitt satellite office, which were reduced from Monday through Friday to one day a week by County Board of Supervisors budget cuts in 2015 that reduced staff in the office by four people.

Gipe agreed, voicing support for increased open hours at the site.

Iowa Senate District 49 seat

Clinton County voting results for the Chris Cournoyer vs. Patti Robinson race favored Cournoyer, election returns show. Cournoyer, of LeClaire, had brought in 9,431 votes (52.4 percent) compared to Robinson’s 8,577 (47.6 percent).

Complete Scott County polling results for the race were unavailable at press time.

The race for Iowa’s 49th District Senate seat featured two relatively political newcomers in Democrat Robinson and Republican Cournoyer, candidates vying for the seat vacated by Iowa Lt. Gov. candidate Rita Hart, a Democrat.

Cournoyer brought leadership in several areas, including presiding over the Pleasant Valley School Board, serving as a reserve deputy with the Scott County Sheriff’s Office, holding positions on the Southeast Iowa STEM Advisory Board and gaining presidency of the Quad-City Engineering and Science Council.

Robinson is a former Medicaid case manager, working for Clinton County for nearly 26 years. The candidate focused heavily during her campaign on reforming the privatized healthcare entity. Robinson reported that after speaking with potential constituents, Medicaid reform was of the utmost importance.

Mommsen vs. McClimon

Current Iowa House District 97 representative Norlin Mommsen, a Republican, received the most votes among Clinton County voters, according to the unofficial election returns. Mommsen received 4,054 votes. Democrat challenger Tim McClimon received 3,878 votes. Results from Scott County for the Iowa House District 97 race were not available in time for publication.