Students earn scholarships

Submitted photoThere to celebrate scholarships recently dished out by the Mount St. Clare Charitable Education Trust were (front row, from left) David Helscher of Clinton National Bank, Krista Atkinson, Ellen Vander Bleek, Ruby Jasa, Taylor Ziemet, Karlee Griswold, Madison Eberhart, Jordan Woods, Karli Atkinson, and Sister Janice Cebula, president of the Sisters of St. Francis, Clinton; (second row) Hannah Dash, Rachel Huizenga and Haley Snyder; (third row) Cameron Isbell and Joshua Bolen; (fourth row) Gage Harris and Jonathan Green; (fifth row) Drake Dodson, Ethan Ruchotzke, Caleb Church and Seth Sikkema.

CLINTON — The recipients of the 2018 scholarships from Mount St. Clare Charitable Education Trust were recently notified of their successful application. A total of 65 scholarships were awarded among the more than 100 eligible applicants. The total amount of scholarships awarded was $163,500.

Under the terms of the trust, eligible applicants are graduates of high schools located in Clinton County or Whiteside County, and will be attending a two- or four-year college or university in the state of Iowa. Preference is given to applicants attending either Catholic post-secondary institutions or a community college in Clinton.

The scholarship funds were established over the years for the benefit of students at Mount St. Clare College and later, Ashford University. In 2012 the various funds were combined and a trust was created for the permanent management and administration of these scholarships. The primary purpose is to provide educational scholarships in recognition of the long-term commitment to the value of education by the Sisters of St. Francis in Clinton.

With the closure of Ashford University in Clinton in 2016, the class of eligible scholarship recipients expanded. Applications are submitted to the trustee, and an independent selection committee reviews the applications and selects annual recipients. Each of the individual component scholarship funds has its own scholarship requirements, and selection was made with these in mind.

The recipients of the 2018 Mount St. Clare Charitable Education Trust scholarship, listed by high school attended are:

n Clinton High School — Trevor Dickherber, McKenna Greenwalt, Genevieve Ehlers, Adison Mixdorf, Elle Hill, Allie Eversoll, Samantha Swamberger, Joshua Bolen, McKenna Eberhart, Jessica Mangler Arends, Gage Harris, Zachary Merkel, Karlee Griswold, Jordan Woods, Hannah Dash, Tim Dickherber, Rachelle Susie, Halle Davis, Madison Eberhart and Bailey Tinderholt.

n Prince of Peace High School — Sydney Kaup, Erin Vander Bleek, Seth Moeller, Maggie Schnier, Krista Atkinson, Destinee Irish and Karli Atkinson.

n Camanche High School — Ruby Jasa, Drake Dodson and Dev Patel.

n Fulton High School — Seth Sikkema, Abbygale Willging, Elizabeth Leonard, Lucas Wiebenga, Rachel Huizenga and Sarah Stephan.

n Northeast High School — Wyatt Schmidt, Dawson Tubbs, Sydney Franks, Kaile Hoffman, Madlin Kaczinski, Alecca Gray, Ethan Ruchotzke, Cameron Isbell, Haley Bielenberg and Haley Snyder.

n Morrison High School — Kaleb Church.

n Central DeWitt High School — Taylor Ziemet, Mathew Townsley, Jonathan Green, Kaitlyn Roling and Kali Roling.

n Calamus-Wheatland High School — Sarah Garland.

Clinton National Bank, the trustee of the Mount St. Clare Charitable Education Trust, manages and administers the trust and its individual scholarship funds. The trust is a perpetual trust with the intent to make annual scholarships available to graduates of eligible area high schools to further their education. It is anticipated that a new scholarship application form will be available early in 2019 for the 2019 scholarship selection process and will be available at area high school guidance offices and on the trustee’s website.