CLINTON — Three area players were honored as the Iowa Newspaper Association (INA) announced its boys basketball all-state teams.

Bellevue Marquette’s Ryan Tebbe and Calamus-Wheatland’s Ryan Powers were both named to the Class 1A second team, while Central DeWitt’s Kramer Steffens was named to the third team in Class 3A.

Tebbe averaged 20.9 points and 7.3 rebounds per game in leading the Mohawks to a 12-9 record. The 6 foot 4 senior was selected as the Big East Conference Most Valuable Player as well as being named First Team All-Conference, while carrying on the Marquette basketball tradition.

Powers was Calamus-Wheatland’s “go to” guy as just a sophomore. The 6 foot 3 swingman led the Warriors in points, rebounds, assists, steals and blocks. Powers averaged 24.0 points and 10.3 rebounds per game while hitting 46 3-pointers on his way to earning First Team All-Big East honors.

Steffens was named to the Class 3A third team after leading Central DeWitt with 14.5 points per game. The 6 foot 3 senior displayed his versatility by contributing 4.9 rebounds, 4.7 assists and 2.3 steals per game in leading the Sabers to a 14-9 record before falling to eventual state champion, Dubuque Wahlert, in the district championship.

Iowa City High senior Matt Gattens was named Mr. Basketball after leading the Little Hawks to the Class 4A state title. Gattens, a three time INA All-State honoree, is a repeat first team selection.

He finished his career as City High’s all-time leading scorer with 1,928 points. This season he averaged 22.1 points and 6.1 rebounds per game while shooting .833 from the free throw line and .397 from 3-point range. The University of Iowa recruit was also named academic all-conference and captain of the 4A all-tournament team.

The Mississippi Athletic Conference placed three on the 4A elite squad. State runner-up Davenport Central seniors L.A. Pomlee and E.J. Hicks along with Davenport West senior Lavione West were named first team.