In this Clinton Herald archive photo, Joe Simpson stands in the batter's box during a home game this season. Simpson has catapulted to the top of the Mississippi Athletic Conference leaderboard in batting average (.474) and is among the top-five in on-base percentage and slugging this season. 

CLINTON – The Clinton High School baseball team was well-represented when the Mississippi Athletic Conference released its all-conference teams Wednesday, as the River Kings sent seven total players to the list.

As expected, the duo of Joe Simpson and Max Holy earned first-team honors for outfield and shortstop, respectively. Simpson hit .448 and swiped a whopping 40 bases while Holy hit .443 and 15 doubles.

The duo batted first and second in the lineup and often provided a spark to the River Kings’ offense.

Riley Hill and Matt Swamberger picked up second-team honors. Hill, third base, was a key piece to Clinton’s potent middle of the order, finishing with a .357 batting average and chipping in 19 RBIs. Swamberger, catcher, overcame early season struggles to finish at a .356 clip. He was one of the team’s captains and an asset on both sides of the game.

Bret Myli, Parker Mangelsen and Zach Hoffman (all pitchers) were each recognized as honorable mentions. Myli was the team’s go-to option for the bulk of the season and ate up the majority of the team’s innings. Mangelsen dealt with injuries but contributed a red-hot string of starts to end the season. Hoffman trailed only Myli in total innings (42 1/3) and could be used in starts or in relief.

The River Kings finished 10-21 this season after a tough loss to Davenport West in eight innings eliminated the team last Friday.

Jack Young (Pleasant Valley) and Nick Gottilla (Assumption) were named Co-Players of the Year. Greg Thissen (Assumption) was named Coach of the Year.